Home > Hip Impingment, Misc., Physical Therapy, Training > Returning to My Old Self

Returning to My Old Self

The last time I posted an entry I was two months removed from my second and final arthroscopic hip surgery. Since that last entry, a lot has happened in my recovery.

In February, I struggled. Setbacks was the norm. But I overcame those setbacks.

Since those setbacks I slowly returned to my old self.

On March 12, I saw Dr. Bryan Kelly for my three month post-op follow up. To no surprise they were content with my range of motion and quick recovery. The only difference this time around was the amount of atrophy I sustained in my left hip. Dr. Kelly acknowledged I need to build strength and muscle. It was also on that date where I was cleared to return to the gym and resume a limited running plan.

Life is  good.

Since that date I have returned to the gym. With the exception of physical therapy, I ran once on my own. If you follow this blog you know how much running means to me. Just last week I signed up for a 5K sponsored by the company I work for. I am ready. But since the event is a week from this Wednesday, I will participate with caution. My body is not where I want it to be.

Hopefully July, I will have the stamina and strength I desire.

It is only April and already I am planning for three to five running events this year. I am excited.

To avoid injury I am actually learning new stretching techniques. My lower body is tight. And the last thing I need is an injury. I am using tools such as the foam roller, balance board and even a towel. Since the two surgeries I learned how vital stretching is for the success and overall health for an active individual.

I look forward to what my running future holds. After all, all I ask is to run in one marathon. Once I begin and end that 26.2 journey, I plan on retiring from long distant running. I just need to get through this year and next year. My goal is to run the NYC Marathon in 2014.

I am looking forward to this journey.

  1. April 14, 2013 at 7:22 pm

    Go Jorge!

    • April 14, 2013 at 9:04 pm

      Thank you buddy. I cannot wait for my first race.

  2. Nikki
    May 21, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    hi Jorge! Congrats! I’d love to chat offline. I had my RT hip done at HSS about 10 months ago and unfortunately my recovery isn’t going as well as yours. I have a few questions for you if you have the time. Thanks!

    • May 21, 2013 at 5:31 pm

      Hi Nikki.

      Thank you for the kind words. Yes we can definitely chat offline. Feel free to e-mail me at briones.jorge@gmail.com. Which doctor at HSS performed your surgery?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

