Home > Uncategorized > 8 Weeks Ago

8 Weeks Ago

The last time I submitted an entry I was preparing to return to the office after recovering from my second hip surgery. That was about a month ago. One month later I physically feel great.

Being diagnosed with femoroacetabular impingement (FAI) in the spring of 2011 has taught me a lot about my physical fitness and in a way about life.

Two surgeries later I have lot to look forward to. My hips have never felt this good in such a great period of time. Eight weeks ago I had my second hip surgery performed by Dr. Bryan T. Kelly.

The minute I woke up from my medically induced sleep I knew I would return to my old fitness levels in due time. Compared to my first surgery I recovered in a quicker pace. Now I am not saying I am ready to run. Would I like to run? Of course. Those who know me, know running is my drug.

But for now I am enjoying the freedom of being able to walk around without the assistance of crutches. Walking is something many of us take for granted. But being unable to walk can be a hindrance.

Eight weeks have gone. And slowly I am ready to return to the gym. I am basing my return off of last years surgery. I was cleared to return to the gym in March. Unlike last year though, I plan on mixing my routine. No longer will I focus my workout solely on cardio. I will do a hybrid of workouts ranging from cardio to swimming and yoga. This is something I look forward to.

Two weeks ago I met with Dr. Bryan T. Kelly for my six week follow up. I went in for the routine post-op x-rays and consultation. To my amazement he gave me one of the best compliments. After six weeks my range of motion was better than what any of us had expected. He joked, “I would love to clone you.” The thought about wanting more patients who quickly heal was a tremendous compliment from a surgeon who has done the same surgery on athletes and regular patients.

I credit my quick recovery to my workouts and the tremendous staff at STAR physical therapy. Jeremy Crowe deserves a lot of credit for getting me back to my feet.

My therapy has greatly improved my hips. Last year I did my therapy but at times took it for granted. In time I healed. But this time around, my mindset was on getting stronger and faster. In order to get there I need to stay focused on my physical therapy. Each visit to STAR I go with the mentality of doing better than the previous day.

And guess what…I do. I went from 10 seconds on the balance board to two minutes. I still can’t believe that. Balancing for two minutes is not easy. But focus is the key. And so is music. If you do not have your iPod, time will not be on your side. That’s just one of the many workouts I do at physical therapy. It feels great.

I do suffer from tightness but that’s why I stretch often at home and at work. If there was one thing I learned in the last eight weeks, it was the value of stretching. I not only stretch my hips but I also stretch my upper body and lower body. Apparently I am flexible. So I am going with it.

I am content with my recovery. But I could not have done it without the love and support of family and friends. If you are reading this I thank you. I would like to name each of you but I would need a lot more time. But you all know who you are. Whether you are my blood, my coworkers, high school friends, college friends or twitter friends. You know who you are. Gracias desde el fondo de mi corazon! Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

Eights have gone by. What do the next eight weeks have in store? Let’s wait and see.

Until next time.

Jorge

  1. February 28, 2013 at 9:45 pm

    U generated quite a few superb tips with your
    posting, “8 Weeks Ago | runjorgerun” Roller Shade .
    I’ll end up returning to ur blog eventually. Many thanks ,Krystal

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

