Home > Uncategorized > It’s Time

It’s Time

Monday morning I will be at The Hospital for Special Surgery in New York City. Like last year, I will have my hip scoped for FemoroAcetabular Impingement (FAI) and a partially torn labrum. Last year I had my right hip scoped this year it will be the left side. Since starting the whole process in early 2011, I knew I was in good hands with Dr. Bryan Kelly.

Today being my last day walking without the use of crutches happened to be a great day. Despite not visiting the gym today, I spent a lot of time with my family. The bond I have with my family is what keeps me composed and focused, not just for the challenge I will face but in life. Good times was had. And a lot of laughing is the cure for any ailment. Trust me.

In the last few weeks I have taken my workouts to another level. I used the stair master on a frequent basis. The perspiration dripping off my face proved that I can still be active on a high level. I am proud to say that when I return to my active life, I will pick up where I left off. And whatever weight I gain between now and March/April will not affect me as much. I have been down this road before. And I refuse to regress into old patterns.

My motivation has allowed me to think about the future. Earlier this week I registered for the 2013 Rock N Roll – New York 10K in Brooklyn. Running has allowed me to break free and enjoy being healthy.

As I prepare for surgery I cannot help but think about the great times I had running. Between August and October I ran three races. Each race will hold a special place in my heart. In August I ran the Damon Runyon 5K at Yankee Stadium. That race was my first competitive race. But what made that race far more special and memorable was due to my gaffe. I ended up with a medal I did not deserve. I hit the finish line when I was supposed to go around the final course a second time. My bad.

In September, I redeemed myself when I ran the Tunnel to Towers 5K. I completed the race with a decent time. And above all I ran for those first responders who gave up their lives on 9-11. It was a treat and a complete honor.

This past October I ran my final race. The Rock N Roll 10K at Prospect Park was amazing. It was a cool October morning and I was excited to have participated in the event. The race was far more special as I did it for me. I know that sounds shallow but I wanted to prove to myself that I can stick to my goals. Sure enough I did. And in the process established a new personal record. I completed the race in 51 minutes. Not too bad if I say so myself. I literally shaved off 6 minutes from my own 10K race in Central Park.

I look forward to what will be in store for me come 2013. Stay tuned.

Emotionally, physically and spiritually I feel great. With that said I will enjoy these last hours with family.

Until next time. We’ll chat. Be safe and well. Tomorrow I will be on the road to recovery.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

