Home > Misc., Training > Race Season

Race Season

I last posted an entry back on June 10. In that time a lot has happened. Let’s see, on July 2, I celebrated my 32nd birthday. I completed my sixth year at my current place of employment. My New Jersey Devils came close to making a historic run in the Stanley Cup Final. I continue to make strides in my health. But right now I am happy to announce that in the time I last submitted a blog I registered for three races.

That’s right. I registered for 2-5K’s and one-10K. Each race will be one month apart beginning in August. I look forward to the challenge. Seven months ago I had arthroscopic hip surgery to correct my abnormal right hip. While I do not have the ideal look that I want, quite frankly, I feel great. I have even lost the post-surgery weight. But as I prepare for my next surgery (December 17), I want to run.

I enjoy the treadmill. But quite frankly I want to competitively run. I have no expectations on winning. I just want to start and cross the finish line in a reasonable time.  By crossing the finish line I will win. It will show me that no one obstacle can stop me. I overcame weight and health issues. Neither of which slowed me down. They may have temporarily prevented me from being active, but I take all adversity head on.

Here I am on the Fourth of July, preparing for three races and preparing myself mentally on the challenges that lie ahead.

With that said I would like to discuss why I am running each race.

On August 12, I am running at Yankee Stadium (yes, this is coming from a Mets fan). While the venue is great, the reason why I am running is why I selected that race. The race: The Runyon 5K: Damon Runyon 5K at Yankee Stadium Run/Walk for Cancer Research.

To me this race was a no brainer. Each of us at some time in our live have known someone who was affected by cancer. In 1946, journalist and playwright author, Damon Runyon, passed away from throat cancer. Upon his death media personality and colleague, Walter Winchell, established the Damon Runyon Cancer Memorial Fund in Runyon’s honor. For you NY Yankees fans, the team has a long and storied history with foundation. “Joe DiMaggio was a member of the Board in the 1950’s and Babe Ruth and Mickey Mantle were supporters.” Runyon himself began his career as a baseball journalist.

I am running this event to raise money for cancer research. While running the course at Yankee Stadium be a once in a lifetime thrill, I want to run for those that have been affected by cancer. I ask you, my fellow readers, to please donate whatever you can to this charity. Please click here to donate.

After the Damon Runyon race, I will prepare for my second 5K. On Sunday September 30 I will run The Tunnel to Towers 5K. The run will begin at the Brooklyn Battery Tunnel and conclude at the World Trade Center site. This event was created to honor the life of Stephen Siller who passed away on 9-11-01. On that day, Mr. Siller, an FDNY fire fighter, took 60 pounds of equipment from the tunnel to the World Trade Center after the city closed the tunnel in response to the terrorist attacks. With 60 pounds in tow he ran from the tunnel to site and unfortunately passed away. His act of heroism will never be forgotten.

Last year as I prepared for my first surgery, I remember watching WCBS tv covering the event on a rainy Sunday morning. I vowed to myself to run this event. I never expected to run this event this year. Living in the NY/NJ area, 9/11 affected everyone. In a way we all knew the victims. It hurt us to see the area closed off. It hurt to see families look for their loved ones. It hurt me to see the families hurt.

This year I will do my part to honor those who lost their lives on that day. Most importantly we honor the responders who gave their all to search for victims. The event raises money to support our everyday heroes. Funds raised go to help fire, police, and military heroes. I am honored and privileged to run for this cause. Can you help? Please donate by clicking here.

I would greatly appreciate all the support and donations. Remember I am not doing this for me. I am doing this for cancer research and our everyday heroes. God bless them all.

My last race will take place on Saturday October 13. This event will be held in Prospect Park, Brooklyn, NY. On that day I will run called the Rock N Roll : New York 10K. I am looking forward to the event. Autumn will hit the air. Cooler temps will probably mean a better running time. I would like to run the course a few times before the event. Have I run 6+ miles before? Well of course. I ran the loop around Central Park twice, with the most recent coming yesterday. Yesterday I ran the 6+ mile loop in 58 minutes and 6 seconds. I will talk more about this race in later entries.

For now I am focused on training for the 2-5K races. But most importantly I want to raise enough money for the charities. Please help.

Thank you for your time. Have a happy and safe Fourth of July.

Jorge

 

  1. July 4, 2012 at 9:03 pm

    Best wishes for a good training cycle as well as a fun set of runs. You definitely deserve it.

    • July 5, 2012 at 9:31 am

      Thank you, buddy. Being able to run outside as opposed to the treadmill is a liberating feeling. I cannot wait for my very first race at Yankee Stadium. It will be a thrill. 🙂

  2. July 17, 2012 at 4:03 am

    Wow, I’m extremely impressed by how well you are recovering from your FAI surgery. Congrats! You are in great hands with Dr Brian Kelly and his team; I have seen very few people going back to their sports activities this quickly!

    Jorje, I read you will have another operation on your left hip joint in December. My name is Peter and I run a startup company that does motion simulation for FAI surgery. We’re still trying to get some attention to our service, and rather than calling up surgeons and trying to squeeze into their tight schedules we think it’s a better idea if patients help us with that, while we help the patients with their surgery.

    Please have a look at the video at our website at http://www.clinicalgraphics.com. We basically animate standard CT scans to find out if patients have FAI, where the problem is, how big the problem is and what should be done to resolve the problem. And you already had a CT scan, right? So if you upload or send us your CT scan, we can create one of our PDF reports for you, which will hopefully be of help to you and your surgeon in preparation of the surgical procedure. For an example video + pdf, see this page http://www.clinicalgraphics.com/PDFDemonstration.aspx.

    If you choose to send us your CT scan, we won’t charge you anything for our service. If you like the result and think it may be interesting to Dr Brian Kelly, you can perhaps show it to him. If you don’t like the result, you don’t have to do anything.

    Sounds interesting or do you have questions? Drop me a line at p.r.krekel@clinicalgraphics.com!

    Good luck running the Yankee Stadium race, I’m sure you will do great!

    Best regards,
    Peter

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

