Home > Hip Impingment, Misc., Physical Therapy, Training > The Last 14 Months – A Half Marathon Timeline

The Last 14 Months – A Half Marathon Timeline

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mother’s out there.

Prior to spending the day with my mother I had an early morning workout with my personal trainer, Mitch. We focused on upper body training with free weights and cables. I put a lot of effort into the session. To make a long story short after the session, I decided to get a quick run on the treadmill. In 30 minutes I completed the equivalent of a 5-K on the treadmill. Not too shabby.

I then started reminiscing of the events that lead me to today.

February, 2011 – After a long run on the treadmill I felt some discomfort in my right hip and groin. I opted to rest for two weeks. Two weeks later, I returned did not feel any better.

March, 2011 – After seeing an orthopedic doctor, he requested an x-ray, which revealed a condition on both hips called femoroacetabular impingement (FAI). He told me that with physical therapy and continuation of my workouts I would be fine. I believed him at first. After telling my best friend, she mentioned her colleague had the same condition as I had. She recommended I seek a second opinion. Only catch this doctor was in demand. In March I stopped working out for six months.

Late March, 2011 – Landed a second opinion appointment with Dr. Bryan T. Kelly at The Hospital For Special Surgery (HSS). To no surprise, I scheduled my appointment for the day after Memorial Day.

HSS

May, 2011 – He requested a CT Scan before the appointment. Afterwards I met Dr. Kelly and his staff at HSS. He checked my range of motion and discovered some decent range. He too confirmed FAI, but put me at ease when he recommended physical therapy. That day I met Jeremy Crow, STAR Physical Therapy. They both recommended PT before even considering surgery. My condition at that time was not as severe as other cases. After completing the consultation he recommended I see him in August for a follow up.

June, 2011 – I began STAR Physical Therapy with Jeremy Crow and Amanda Wohl. They treated me well. After exchanging pleasantries they had me working. The first two weeks felt great but soon after I began to regress.

August, 2011 – My follow up with Dr. Kelly. He recommended I get a hip injection. The injection would determine if the discomfort is coming from my hip or back.

Mid-August, 2011 – The hip injection determined the discomfort was coming from my hip and not my back. Dr. Kelly recommended surgery. I agreed. And on that day I made up my mind on when to get the surgery. Later on that week, I spoke with Dr. Kelly’s staff member on scheduling the surgery for December 19.

September, 2011 – During my last consultation, Dr. Kelly recommended I return to the gym. On Labor Day, I returned to the gym. It was a bittersweet and monumental return.

December 19, 2011 – Surgery. It was the beginning of living with a perfectly normal yet surgically repaired right hip.

December 21, 2011 – I started physical therapy with Jeremy and Amanda. It was an arduous ride at first but I soon regained my momentum.

January 17, 2012 – I returned to work. Walking in NYC with one crutch was not easy. But thankfully the NY/NJ area endured a mild winter.

January 31, 2012 – Six week post-op follow up with Dr. Kelly. He checked my range of motion and was as content as I was. He then cleared me to return to the gym. (Writer’s note: I did not return to the gym until March.)

March, 2012 – I resumed my workouts. Returning to the gym was not easy but it certainly was not difficult. For the first few weeks I opted for elliptical training.

Mid-March, 2012 – I purchased 20 personal training sessions with Mitch.

Training

May 1, 2012 – After four months I completed physical therapy. I am blessed and grateful for Dr. Kelly, his staff at HSS, Jeremy and Amanda from STAR.

My Final Session at STAR

After all this, I am now going to enjoy the summer and the autumn. In December, I will prepare for the same procedure, but this time on my left hip. For the interim, I will enjoy sporting events, run a 5K or two, and proudly accept my Master’s Degree next Sunday from NYIT. I have a busy schedule ahead of me. I could not be any happier.

It’s Go Time!

 

 

  1. June 3, 2012 at 10:52 pm

    So is your right hip feeling 100% better? I have had the same surgery, and also had to wait a considerable amount of time before the surgery was performed. (10 very painful months!) Just like you, prior to discovering my femoral impingement and labral tear, I used to be a very fit athlete and ran 6.5 miles per day and numerous half marathons.

    My surgery was performed September 26, 2011 and I am having terrible side effects. Numbness in my right leg, popping that takes my breath away, and pain similar to before I had the surgery. I had another MRI last Tuesday, and I’m looking forward to receiving the results tomorrow. In the meantime, I have been told to only get on the cross trainer and to avoid running until they figure out why I am still having so much pain.

    I am curious to see if you feel 100% better… BTW, you have inspired me with your optimism. This injury has gotten me down, especially since I have gained 30 pounds since my injury and I can’t see myself running ever again. (Not because I don’t want to, trust me on that!) I dream of getting out there and leading military PT again, and running like I did 1.5 years ago. Anyway thanks for picking me up a bit. -Jenn

  2. June 4, 2012 at 10:06 am

    Hi Jenn. Thank you for your kind words. I truly appreciate it.

    As for my hip, I cannot say it’s at “100%”, but I can say it is close to it. I am sorry to have read your ordeal. I do hope your doctors discover what is causing your pain. And to be 10 months removed and not show complete relief is disconcerting. Please keep me posted on the outcome of your MRI results.

    Do you have the same issue on the opposite hip? Or do you plan on getting the opposite fixed as well? Tomorrow I am visiting Dr. Kelly for my six month follow up. As a matter of fact I have been meaning to update the blog, but if it was not one thing it was another. But I definitely want to update the blog after my visit with Dr. Kelly.

    My surgically repaired right hip has healed. Two days ago, I ran the equivalent of a 5K in 29 minutes. The hip was sore and a bit stiff. But I expected that. My left hip, on the other hand, is a cause for concern.

    As I mentioned before tomorrow I will visit Dr. Kelly for a follow-up, but I also hope to discuss when I can get the left procedure done. In actuality, I want to get the procedure in December (like last year). The question is should I get the injection in my left hip? I would like to. Since returning to the gym in March my left hip has left me sore and weak. Even more so yesterday as my trainer had me do leg lifts.

    I figure if I can stay in shape between now and December my recovery post surgery will be better than the first. At least that is how I think of it.

    If there is anything I can do feel free to let me know. I know you are unable to do much due to your pain, but if there was one thing I learned from this experience, it was to do as much as you can. I improvised. If I was unable to run, I walked. If I was unable to lift with my knees, I focused on upper body. There are ways of overcoming things, and I know you can find ’em. 🙂

    Again feel free to contact me.

    Regards

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

