Home > Misc., Training > Re-Train My Mind, Body and Soul

Re-Train My Mind, Body and Soul

After nine weeks I am improving. Yes I endure the constant soreness and stiffness from the procedure. But while that is expected I truly feel a sense of accomplishment. My body is healing. I have regained a good amount of strength. Physical therapy has taught me a lot about the conditioning I need to take care of my body.

I have officially started a countdown on my long awaited return to the gym. March 1 is my long awaited return to the NYSC. My health has taken a temporary back seat while I recovered from surgery. But as my physical therapist Jeremy has mentioned, returning to the gym will be a great way to compliment the work I have put in at physical therapy. I am ready for the challenge and I am ready to slowly get back on the running path.

My return to the gym will have restrictions. I am unable to run. As a matter of fact, for some reason I refuse to run. My psyche refrains me from even attempting to jog. It is nothing new. I had the same issue in 2008 months after my ankle surgery. Each time I would walk near a pot hole, I would grimace and slowly pace myself as a way to avoid falling into it. In a way I was traumatized. But after a while I slowly overcame my psychological disadvantage.

Today I am at another psychological disadvantage – a repaired hip with inflammation and soreness has prevented me from testing my right hip. Right now I am better off taking it slow and steady. After all both Jeremy and Dr. Kelly have advised me to proceed with caution. Now that was a statement not to deter me from working out (they have encouraged me to return) but instead not to do too much. When I do return I will be ready to take on the challenge.

I will definitely do my best to take my physical therapy methods into the gym. Going into March I will be better prepared and motivated to re-gain my old form. My future looks bright.

Returning will be another step in the right direction.

Categories: Misc., Training Tags: , ,
  1. February 20, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    Glad you are doing so well!

    • February 20, 2012 at 2:34 pm

      Thank you Lindsay. Slow and steady is the current theme. By the summer I will be ready to run. I cannot wait. 🙂

  2. Kelly
    February 20, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    Way to go! I am so proud of you & your strength & willingness to go forward. I pray for you everday that you continue to recovery successfully. Keep up the great work.

    • February 23, 2012 at 7:29 pm

      Thank you, Kelly. I am on the right path. Lord knows I need to drop some “lb’s”. The never ending struggle continues.

  3. Rosalyn
    February 20, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    You have the right attitude. I totally understand the hesitation with running. I felt the same way after my ITB flared up. You are doing great. Every small step is a big triumph. You are not defeated and when you return stronger than ever and eventually accomplish your long-term goal of running a marathon you will have much to celebrate and savor. Cheers, Jorge and have a wonderful start to your week 🙂

    • February 23, 2012 at 7:31 pm

      Thank you, Rosalyn. My hip flares up but that’s expected. I am anxiously eager to get back on track. I need to lose the weight I gained post-surgery. I need to look good for graduation, afterall. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

