Home > Hip Impingment, Training > Post-Op Follow Up

Post-Op Follow Up

This morning I had my long awaited post-op follow up with Dr. Kelly. Heading into this day I felt great – there was no reason to worry. The appointment called for an x-ray and range of motion.

After arriving I was quickly admitted and went straight into radiology. I did exactly what the technician asked. Unlike the first time my hip did not feel to bad. After ten minutes I changed into my work attire and went back to the reception area. Not too long after that I was called into Dr. Kelly’s office.

Once again I changed into a pair of shorts. The moment of truth was seconds away. *Knock* Dr. Kelly enters with his colleague Jeremy and my physical therapist Jeremy Crow. After exchanging pleasantries, we got down to business.

He opened my file and provided me with good news. First he showed me the image of my labrum taken during the surgery. The image made my jaw dropped. The labrum was partially torn and inflamed. To this moment I cannot get the image of the crimson red inflammation of my labrum. He then showed me the image of my labrum after it was repaired – talk about night and day! Visually obvious were the sutures (stitches) on the labrum. The image was clear and for the first time in a long time…healthy – at least close to it.

The next step were the before and after x-ray images. Of course the first image showed both hips without the proper curve to the femor head. As Dr. Kelly explained and have mentioned on the blog countless times – the impingement caused the friction to the labrum. And most likely causing the same problem in my left. Then he showed me the x-ray image taken this morning. The femor head now has its proper shape. Looking at the image you would have thought I would be in so much pain. But guess again.

I asked Dr. Kelly a question. “Is it possible for the bone to grow back?” In a nut shell he said the reason orthopedics request a post-op follow up after 6 weeks is to ensure the bone has not grown back. He went on to say there is a small percentage of FAI post-op patients who do encounter a growth in the femor head. But the x-ray image confirmed that I will not be a statistic.

I quickly brought up the issue with my left hip. Upon asking him that he requested I lay down. With both Jeremy’s present he moved my right leg in many directions. He blurted to his colleague Jeremy some numbers. I suppose they were degrees of my range of motion. Then out of the blue Dr. Kelly seemed to be in “awe”. He mentioned to those how content he was to see my right hip properly healing. His comment truly made my day.

He then proceeded to move the left leg. Again he felt the movement was not too bad. But then when he moved it a bit too far I instantly felt some discomfort. In a way I expected that slight feeling of discomfort.

After his examination of both hips, he requested I get a CT Scan – not just on my right hip but on my left hip. He wants to determine the bone density of both hips. Added on top of that he wants to see me again in six weeks.

Before we called it a day, I asked about my workouts. They laughed. Come on I am dying to get back to the gym. Well Dr. Kelly said I am cleared to use the elliptical and even swim. However, he does not want me to overdo it. Obviously I knew that – but it is good to know I can workout. He wants me to work with Jeremy Crow on what I can and cannot do.

Overall I am ecstatic and elated at the experience.

Thoughts?

  1. January 31, 2012 at 11:15 pm

    That is fantastic news! Even getting some “workouts” in is better than nothing. It’ll keep you mentally and physically sharp. The last thing you want to experience, is a shock when you can start getting into a full routine. It’s good that you’ll be able to lay down a foundation. Keep us updated! =)

    • February 2, 2012 at 1:17 pm

      Thanks Dani. Since hearing the news I could not be any happier. My right hip feels great. There is no pain or discomfort. The only thing I feel in my right hip is soreness and tightness – this can easily be alleviated by stretches. I no longer fear surgery on the left side. Dr. Kelly and those at STAR have truly made all of my worries disappear.

  2. February 7, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    great news!!!!

  3. February 7, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    You’re on the right path. I’m happy for you!

    • February 7, 2012 at 4:58 pm

      Thank you Lindsay. I have come a long way. And while I am unable to do much I refuse to let this setback discourage me. I have gained a few pounds since the surgery but in due time I will regain the body I once had. 🙂

  4. Kelly D
    February 25, 2012 at 11:00 am

    Hi Jorge, Your story sounds so similar to mine. I was officially diagnosed by Bryan Kelly a week ago and my surgery is scheduled for May 24th, 2 weeks after my wedding…ugh. I have FAI, torn labrum and cartilage on both hips. After speaking to Bryan he mentioned that the cartilage on the left hip was much worse then expected, as I have had FAI since I was 16 and no one knew about it, so lots of damage. I am extremely nervous about this surgery…can you tell me how he physically repaired the cartilage? DId he get in there see the extent of damage then make the decision to repair it? Did he have to remove any of it?
    Beyond all that, as far as walking up steps, were you able to walk the day after? I live on a 4th floor walk up in Hoboken 🙂 and I am nervous about getting up and down the stairs then getting into the city to STAR.
    Any insights, positive thoughts welcome!
    Kelly D-

    • February 25, 2012 at 1:16 pm

      Hi Kelly – First of all let me assure you, you are in good hands with Dr. Kelly and his staff. I sought his care after the first doctor didn’t provide me with the appropriate steps to alleviate my concerns.
      As for my condition, Dr. Kelly has emphasized every FAI patient is different. I was diagnosed last yr after complaining of discomfort in my hip/groin area. Needless to say he recommended the conservative route with PT. That ultimately did not pan out well.

      After the hip injection we planned the surgery for December. Two months after the surgery I am feeling great. In a week and a half I am seeing Dr. Kelly for a 12 week follow up. We also plan on talking about the procedure on the left hip. I will seek that in December.

      As for walking with crutches I was able to get around with crutches. I do not think you will have a hard time – but you will need to give yourself some time to get up and down.

      The people at STAR are great. You will more than likely deal with Jeremy Crow and Amanda Wohl. Regardless who you see – you will be in good hands. I go to them twice a week. 🙂

      Feel free to let me know your progress. And feel free to follow my Facebook fan page I constantly update my progress.

      FYI: I live in Jersey City. When I am healthy I am usually at the NYSC near the bus terminal (downtown?). 🙂

    • February 25, 2012 at 5:44 pm

      After re-reading your comment I realized I didn’t answer your question. Dr. Kelly used the scope to determine the severity of the labrum. He takes a picture of the labrum repairs it and takes a picture after it has been sutured. I am sure you know this but the pictures are taken while you are sedated. He will make three small incisions in your upper thigh. One is a camera another is a tool to “shave” the bone and another instrument.

      At your six week follow up he will show before and after images of the labrum. My labrum before the surgery was inflamed crimson red. The after photo showed the repair with sutures. It was a great image.

      Don’t be scared or nervous. As I mentioned you will be in good hands with Dr. Kelly and his assistant surgeon (I forget his last name but his first name is also Jeremy.).

      By the way you are going to love HSS. If you ever visited Hoboken University like I have, you will soon realize HSS tops Hoboken or any other hospital. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

