Home > Hip Impingment, Physical Therapy > Has It Been Six Weeks Already?

Has It Been Six Weeks Already?

This Tuesday marks the end of the first month of the new year. But it will also mark my six week post-op follow up with Dr. Kelly. I cannot believe how fast the last six weeks have come and gone. In that time I have: visited STAR physical therapy nine times, graduated from two crutches to one and two weeks ago returned to work. Boy I feel great.

My upcoming appointment with Dr. Kelly will be a routine appointment. On Tuesday, Dr. Kelly will requests x-rays. The x-rays will determine if the shape of my right femur bone healed. Remember I had an abnormal femur bone before December 19th. The abnormality pressed against my labrum. The pressure tore my labrum during intense exercise. With the repaired femur bone he will review the x-ray and provide a consultation on the next steps I should take in my recovery. Dr. Kelly will also provide me with information on the condition of my right hip the day he performed the surgery.

The day I see Dr. Kelly, Jeremy Crow (my physical  therapist) will also provide feedback. Jeremy’s organization works with Dr. Kelly’s patients. His presence at Dr. Kelly’s office comes at the right time – I often have difficulty expressing my condition in words. Yes – I know “how ironic”.  I look forward to Tuesday.

However at that point I would also like to discuss my ailing left hip. Surgery is likely the biggest option. Physical therapy as a conservative treatment did not provide my right hip with any relief. I am aware of the steps I need to take but I am adamant on my refusal to proceed with the conservative treatment. Bypassing the conservative treatment to the hip injection and the surgery will likely be the logical choice.

As for when I will schedule surgery – I am once again targeting a December date. Unlike the last surgery, I now know what to expect. While I did not fear the surgery, I did fear the recovery. Today I no longer fear the recovery. It has been six weeks and I am down to one crutch – hopefully by the end of Tuesday I will be rid of the crutch. (Writers Note: On weekends I do walk around my neighborhood without a crutch; but please do not tell Jeremy or Dr. Kelly. 🙂 ) As I recover from this surgery, the second surgery needs to wait.

When I am cleared I would like to get back on the running path. I am graduating in May. My career is taking off. I would like to travel this summer. Now you can see why I want to hold off on the second surgery. This is my time and I will do my best to hold off on the second procedure.

I look forward to returning to my intense workouts. Missing the gym has been a tough and arduous experience. I will be cleared to resume my intense workouts by May or June. My plan, at this moment, is to return to the gym by mid-February or early March. Before you start yelling me – here me out. I am returning to the gym to do my physical therapy. At least at the gym I have the equipment. That will be the start to get me back on track. And also I plan on seeking swimming lessons. Yes – I cannot swim. But after doing research the swimming benefits outweigh those of running. For starters they are easy on the joints. Why not?

My biggest problem is finding a location that offers lessons at a reasonable rate. My neighborhood pool does not offer lessons until September. They YMCA wants $93/Month + swimming package. The New York Sports Club (NYSC), the gym I frequent, have pools at specific locations. The NYSC on West 49th Street has a pool. Now the question is do they offer lessons. If they offer personal training sessions, I presume they can offer lessons. After all their website says “lessons offered”.

Well all I have to say – has it been six weeks already? Where does the time go.

Tuesday is my big day. Wish me luck.

  1. Adam
    January 30, 2012 at 7:14 am

    Good luck Jorge! I’m rooting for ya, man!

    • January 30, 2012 at 9:26 am

      Thank you, Adam. I feel great – this morning I commuted into the office without my crutch. Leaving home without a crutch felt liberating. Tomorrow will be a big day. I’m ready for it. Hope all is well with you. 🙂

  2. J
    January 30, 2012 at 9:38 pm

    Jorge – Talk to your PT about swimming — mine said that I couldn’t until 3-4 months post-op. (I had the same surgery). Good luck! – J

    • January 30, 2012 at 9:58 pm

      Thank you for the head’s up. I am dying to do something. Since my physical therapist will be at my surgeons office tomorrow I will ask pose that question. Stay tuned. Hope you are feeling well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

