Home > Hip Impingment, Physical Therapy, Training > There is No “I” in Team!

There is No “I” in Team!

Session 6 at physical therapy came and went – and I continue to make strides and progress. As a matter of fact today is a day of celebration (of sorts). Today’s session at STAR was my last session while on medical leave. While I have two months of physical therapy left, I can actually get out of the house and live a bit. Dr. Kelly and his staff cleared me to return to work on Monday. But since Monday is an observed holiday the office will be closed for Martin Luther King Jr. Day – thus making my official return to the office on Tuesday.

The lack of strength I have in my right leg does not deter my ability to resume my life. As a matter of fact that negative has been turned into a positive. For the interim I am relegated to using a single crutch. Using a crutch is a bit of a nuisance but getting around slowly will take my recovery to another level. Post surgery I was unable to do much. A month after surgery, I will be able to walk a bit more than usual. Walking in a way that does not hinder my recovery will be a great form of therapy.

In recent weeks I was fortunate enough to make the acquaintance of other FAI patients on twitter and on my Facebook fan page. Through various discussions I am on par with their post-surgery experiences. Coincidentally I was able to compare “notes” with someone who had her procedure/surgery a week after my procedure. Reading about her recovery and rehabilitation has allowed me to focus on what I need to accomplish in my rehabilitation. Her recovery has taken shape – the methods she learned from her physical therapist is equaled to what I am doing – namely stretches, light cardio and isometric training.

Personally I believe had it not been for social networking sites like Facebook and Twitter, I would feel a bit lost. As a matter of fact I know I would be lost. After having ankle surgery in 2008, I was dejected and deflated. The folks at Mile Square Physical Therapy did their best to treat me and get me back on my feet (literally). They were great – but deep down inside I lacked a support group. As one who never had surgery at that point I did not know what to expect. I did not know how to handle the expectation of ankle surgery – and not to mention the recovery. Internet research got me so far. Without talking to someone who endured what I went through I felt isolated. I do credit the love from my family and friends for helping me get through that dark period. Yes – I kept a brave face but deep inside I was scared.

This time around I not only had the support of family and friends but from FAI patients. If not for people like Angie or Jenny, my recovery would not have been this therapeutic. The aforementioned ladies had a form of FAI and had their surgeries weeks apart. I communicate with each person. Their journey from FAI, to surgery, to recovery has taken a positive turn. An FAI support group is exactly what I needed. Having doubts prior to talking with others had me wondering if I ever would be the same. I had doubts if I would remain the same healthy person I became three years ago. So many doubts and questions lingered. But talking with FAI patients allowed me to think about the future. Well the future looks bright. And I am anxious to get back out there.

I figured I would change-up my entries. I am sure no one wants to read about the same old physical therapy exercises. Once I receive new and challenging workouts you will be the first to know. Actually, the folks who are fans on my Facebook fan page are the first to know. But you will be kept in the loop.

Technically I started an isometric program this morning. Actually it was just one isometric program – I re-learned to use the multi-hip machine. But this is a story for another day.

Now if you excuse me I have some stretches to do.

Have a great weekend.

 

  1. January 14, 2012 at 5:01 pm

    Hi,

    I really appreciate you chronicling your post surgery experiences. After 2 years of pain, I’ve just been diagnosed with FAI and 2 laberal tears in my right hip. I’m due to see a surgeon for the initial consult at the beginning of Feb and will find out then whether they just repair the tears or shave off the excess boney ridges on my femoral head as well.

    Its a great insight for me to hear of your experiences so I get a realistic idea of what lies ahead for me.

    Keep your spirits up, I’m sure you will return to running in good time and be better than ever ;D

    • January 14, 2012 at 7:19 pm

      Hi Martin.

      Thank you for reading. As I mentioned in yesterday’s entry – social networking sites like FB, twitter and WordPress has brought me to another level in dealing and coping with FAI (or any debilitating condition). The blog and the other networking sites have allowed me to post my experiences and in the process be put at ease. I wish you the best and am honored to know that my blog has put you in better spirits.

      Just to let you know – my orthopedic doctor shaved the excess bone from the femoral head and repaired the labrum. More than likely that is what your surgeon will recommend. How much pain are you in?

      Please keep me posted on your progress. šŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

