Home > Physical Therapy > Weight Gain and my Psyche

Weight Gain and my Psyche

Isometrics anyone?

This morning I had a great session at STAR. Amanda and Jeremy had me start, as usual, on the stationary bike. And for ten minutes I “put the peddle to the metal”. What made this session all the better was the increase in resistance. It was the best workout I had since running on the treadmill last month.

I broke out in a sweat. I huffed and puffed. I felt ALIVE. That was not a bad way to start my day. After all in the time I had the surgery weight gain is expected. And while I expect it, I still get discouraged. People often tell me the weight gain I will experience is the cause of surgery – and it is not the cause of old habits. Thankfully old habits is not the cause. But I will be lying if I said I am not discouraged.

I do eat three meals a day and often a healthy snack in between. But sometimes diet alone does not help. I need exercise to help burn off the fuel. Between now and next week I should really look into my closet and try on my clothes. Hopefully, I will be able to fit into the majority of my wardrobe. If not I will be in trouble.

While I am discouraged a bit, I will get ultimately and eventually get back on track. This recovery can only keep me down for so long. In years past I have overcome many obstacles and hurdles. Here I am – healthy. I am ready for anything that comes my way.

Overall my session at STAR was the same. And by “same” I mean GREAT. I had added motivation. My recovery. Between balance exercises and stretches I am sore but as usual in the greatest of spirits.

Well this was just an update and a way for me to vent a bit. This blog provides me with motivation. And when the time is right I will look back at this and laugh.

Until next time friends.

 

  1. Sandra
    January 6, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    Jorge, great to see that your appetite is good post-op. Don’t worry about temporary weight gain. You have the outlook, so you know you’ll be able to balance your diet accordingly. When all is said and done, you’ll be back to your physically fit self. In the meantime, continue to focus on your therapy. That’s what I’m doing. No pain, no gain…. and let me tell you, there’s quite a bit of pain involved. Unfortunately, unlike you, my appetite is not all there, so I have to be careful about not losing too much weight. Uggghhhh… Hmmmm… I never thought I’d have an issue with eating. Jorge, I have so many chocolates that I’ve received from friends. They’re still sitting on my dining table. Now that alone definitely proves that I’m not all there yet. LOL!!!

    • January 6, 2012 at 5:14 pm

      Thank you for the encouraging words, Sandra. Right now my focus is getting the mobility I once had. Yes – this whole weight gain issue has become a sore topic in my psyche. And as I mentioned I do eat 3 meals per day and a healthy snack. During the holidays I was able to avoid the sweet desserts. Granted some of my meals have not been the healthiest. But overall I have been on my best behavior. Being on crutches and immobile for a good period of time will surely be a reason for my weight gain. And as you and someone else have mentioned this is only temporary. My old habits died years ago. My new habits which includes eating right (the majority of the time) and working out (constantly) will return. I just need to be patient – so yes I agree. 🙂 You received chocolates? That was thoughtful. My co-workers who know me well sent me a fruit basket. But get better. I hope to hear from you often. Keep up on your rehab.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

