Home > Hip Impingment > The Road to Recovery

The Road to Recovery

A little more than 24 hours ago I was discharged from the hospital. And quite frankly I am in good condition. Quite frankly, after reading the experiences from other femoro acetabular impingement (FAI) patients, I expected to be in dire pain. In this case I was in great spirits. Actually  that phrase has been overly used since yesterday.

Yes I feel discomfort. Yes I am unable to walk without the use of crutches, but my spirit keeps me strong. For the last four months I knew the uphill battle I faced. Each day was a constant reminder of how December 19 would turn out. And each FAI patient has prepared me for a painful battle. But I knew in my heart of heart PAIN is just a four letter word. My heart will prevail.

Yesterday I went to the Hospital for Special Surgery (HSS) a broken man and came out anew. And a major reason why I am in great spirits goes out to the staff at HSS. Each staffer from registration to the nurses to the anesthesiologist to the physical therapist to Dr. Kelly each deserve high praise. I wish I could say the same for other hospitals but that is not the case. HSS’ main concern is the well being for each and every patient. And I am grateful to have selected Dr. Kelly and HSS. I would not have been comfortable with another doctor at a different hospital.

Pre-Op

Pre-Op

After getting the green light to move from the “pre-op” room to the operating room (OR) I was ready to walk my final steps before surgery. I entered the cold OR and lied in the bed. We exchanged some jokes. Then the moment of talking came to an end. After the anesthesiologist injected the anesthesia into my IV I soon was in a forced slumber. After falling “asleep” I slowly was coming around in a post-op room. With a tube carrying oxygen in each nostril, I had no idea where I was or what was around me.

I remember fighting to stay awake and feeling really good. No pain. But my lower body was completely numb. I had no sensation from my groin area going all the way through my toes. My right leg was placed in a “CPM” machine. And yet I still had no idea where I was. Honestly this was a better experience than my first. After waking up from ankle surgery, I woke up in tears. And I vividly remember asking a nurse as to why I was crying. In this case  “the lights were on, but nobody was home”.

From then on I could hear voices around me. I saw people walking back and forth. A nurse then came to check my vitals. And at that point I was coming to grips as to where I was. She asked me a bunch of questions. As she asked me these questions I knew where I was. And I was becoming the jovial person I was prior to the surgery. I appreciate the support and attention I received at HSS. I do not think I can state that enough.

After having lunch, I wanted to be discharged. However the staff at HSS would not discharge me until I used the bathroom. Of course I knew that since I’ve been down this road before. It was the perfect opportunity for me to walk with the use of crutches but the nurse would not allow me to use the crutches. Instead I used a wheel chair to get to the bathroom. Without getting graphic I did what I had to do and was on my way.

After getting dressed I met one of the physical therapists at the hospital. Sadly I forget her name but she was cordial. She showed me the proper way to use my crutches going up and down the stairs. I wish I remembered her name I would give her a total shout out. But here is a picture of me going down the stairs.

Learning How To Go Down the Stairs With The Help of My Therapist

Learning How To Go Down the Stairs With The Help of My Therapist

  1. December 20, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    Glad to hear you’re doing alright, I hope your experience with this continues to be positive!

    • December 21, 2011 at 6:53 pm

      Thank you for the kind words. I appreciate it. Slowly but surely I am making strides. This will not keep me down for too long.

  2. January 24, 2013 at 4:39 am

    Great to see you’re recovering well. I stay hopeful I do too.

    • February 3, 2013 at 6:59 pm

      Thank you. I wish you all the best in yours. How are you feeling?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

