Home > Hip Impingment, Misc., Training > Surgery is Knocking on My Door

Surgery is Knocking on My Door

It is Sunday December 18, 2011 – and I am hours away from hip surgery. Interestingly, when Dr. Bryan Kelly gave me the news about surgery, I was scared. Of course, who would not be scared upon hearing the word, “surgery”? You would think I am used to surgery by now.

After all, I have had two medical procedures in the past three plus years. In 2008, I had ankle surgery to repair a ruptured anterior talo fibular ligament (ATFL). A year later, I had my gall bladder removed. The difference between the two procedures and what I am about to face tomorrow is my health. In 2008 and 2009 I was in the process of losing weight. Ultimately I dropped 100 pounds – I have never felt so good about myself.

Physically and mentally I am prepared for Monday morning. For four months I have tirelessly prepared for hip surgery. Upon receiving clearance to resume my workouts, I took advantage of each workout session. No matter how great I felt or how exhausted – I gave each session my best and all. The only thing I was unable to do workout wise is run. Dr. Kelly specifically instructed me to do anything with the exception of running and using the spin bike.

However as a fitting tribute I had to put aside Dr. Kelly’s edict. For my last workout, I wanted to pay a stirring tribute to what will ultimately lead me to the NYC Marathon. For weeks I planned my final workout. Sure, the stair master, elliptical and the spin bike (which I have not used since February) have been crucial in my weight loss. But it was running that made me feel good.

Giving up running hurt bad. Yes – I had the gym. Yes – I enjoyed each workout. But not being able to run hurt. Nevertheless, I had to run today. I know Dr. Kelly did not give me the green light. But dammit if I am never running again (unlikely though) I am going out with a bang. And that I did.

My final workout started and ended on the treadmill. For 95 minutes I ran for the first time since late-February. In 65 minutes I ran for 5.68 miles at an average speed of 5.5. Then in 35 minutes I ran for 2.65 miles at an average speed of 5.2. Today was not about losing calories or losing weight. Today was a day for me. Today showed me that after 9+ months I still have what it takes to run the marathon. Yes – I was slow. But damn I felt great.

With the final seconds ticking away and The Bouncing Souls on my iPod I felt a bitter sweet moment. I choked up a bit. To think I will not be able to run or do any sort of cardio for at least six months. That hurts. But I know in due time I will get back to my training. For the interim I just need to take care of myself. I will need to watch my weight. And with that I know things will be alright.

When I walked out of the NYSC this afternoon I was on a “SOMBER HIGH”. All I have to keep me motivated are family, friends and this blog. Rest assured while I may have taken a break from blogging in recent months, now that I am getting my right hip repaired I will have a lot to blog. Be prepared for a great ride. Physically I will be in pain. But my spirit will keep me going.

Here is a photo I took this afternoon minutes after my final run on the treadmill. “It’s Go Time.”

Spirits High

Feeling great after running for 95 minutes on the treadmill.

  1. December 18, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    Prayers going out to you skinny man.

    • December 18, 2011 at 6:21 pm

      Thank you for the kind words. I am confident and through God’s power I will make it out better than ever. I will keep you posted on my recovery. Thank you for everything. 🙂

  2. Zulleyka
    December 18, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    You haven’t run in 10 months and you did it for 95 mins!! Holy crap! You must be very well conditioned to have that stamina! Post surgery you will be better than ever. Remember November 2014 is not that far away, you have a long road ahead but not and endless one. Don’t count the days, make the days count.

    • December 18, 2011 at 6:38 pm

      I ran – it felt great. Needless to say my legs and knees are sore. But I am in great spirits. 2014 indeed is not far away. I cannot wait. Thanks.

  3. December 18, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    5.2 is slow?? thanks jorge 😦 I ran 5.1 and 5.0 today for 15 minutes. 🙂

    • December 18, 2011 at 8:42 pm

      Considering months ago I used to run at a speed over 6.0, running at 5.2 is slow. LOL Nevertheless, in six months I will be back to my old self. God willing of course. Congrats on your workout. We’ll have to run together one day. 🙂

  4. December 18, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    I won’t be able to keep up, especially after you not running for months and still did 5.2 for 90 minutes!! LOL

    • December 18, 2011 at 9:33 pm

      Every minute counts. A few years ago, I was unable to run at a speed of 3.5. But that was due to my weight. Today I developed enough stamina to run long distance. 🙂

  5. December 19, 2011 at 2:08 am

    Wow you lost 100 lbs. Go Jorge! You will run again soon and be as good as new. I just know it!

    • December 20, 2011 at 3:28 am

      Thank you Angela. The road to my weight loss started in 2008 after ankle surgery. Almost three yrs later I am healthy and in the best shape of my life – except now of course. But in no time I will get back to my old ways. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

