Home > Misc. > Why I am Thankful!

Why I am Thankful!

Hello WordPress.

I know…I know…it has been over six weeks since I last updated the blog. The last thing I wanted to do is bore you with the same ole dribble.

But on this day of giving thanks, I wanted to reach out and send you my thanks and appreciation.

As we stand I am about 24 days away from hip surgery. It seems like yesterday (August) I scheduled the surgery date. But alas here we are Thanksgiving Day. And while I am less than 100% physically, my spirit is at an all time high.

Each day my right hip aches and aches. The discomfort I feel after each workout is a reminder of where I am going to be at this point next year. Next year I will not feel the soreness and discomfort. Granted, at this point next year, I may have to prepare for surgery on the left side. For now it’s time to focus on the present and not the future.

Living with Femoroacetabular Impingement (FAI) has taught me to be thankful and grateful for so many things. I am grateful for the opportunity to breathe everyday. I am grateful to regularly see the gym. I am grateful for medical technology. Medical Technology will correct my condition. Not only will the procedure correct my condition but the procedure will not be too invasive. And finally I am grateful for the support of family and friends. Without your support I would not have made it this far.

I give thanks to this precious life.

I am truly humbled, blessed and honored to have you all in my life.

Enjoy your feast.

Much love.

 

Categories: Misc. Tags: , ,
  1. December 16, 2011 at 3:53 am

    I always feel thankful that we have the technology to fix hip pain with FAI surgery or hip replacements. I always wonder how people lived with FAI 200, 100 or 50 years ago. Cant wait for blog updates.

    • December 16, 2011 at 9:14 am

      I truly agree, Angie. We live in a day in age where technology has drastically improved. Imagine had we lived 20+ years ago with FAI – surgery would be far more invasive. Recovery time would increase from 6 months to more than a year. It’s truly a marvel at the improvement of modern medicine. We are blessed for all this. I cannot wait for Monday. Interestingly, I read your blog. Most importantly, the days leading up to your surgery is what I had in mind. I’m getting a new wardrobe, haircut, enjoying the final days. On Monday, “It’s Go Time”! 🙂 You will definitely see updates before and after the surgery.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

