Home > Misc. > Let The Countdown Begin

Let The Countdown Begin

In one month NYC will once again play host to 40,000+ runners in the annual ING NYC Marathon.

Initially I wanted to write about the history of this event. But unfortunately lack of time contributed to this preamble to what I will eventually write about.

Just know rain or shine runners from all over the world will start at the Verrizano Narrows Bridge in Staten Island and run their way through five boroughs culminating in Central Park after 26.2 miles. No marathon compares to running in NYC. For the elite a hefty financial purse awaits the winner. For the runner enthusiast the sense of accomplishing a feat some dare not to challenge.

As you know I have my reasons for wanting to participate. The day of the race was supposed to be the start of my official countdown to the 2012 NYC Marathon. Unfortunately, a hip condition has prevented me from participating for two to three years.

While I am disappointed, I will keep my head and spirits high. Because I know in 2013 or 2014 I will be ready. NYC enjoy it. But prepare for one more in a few years. I will take the challenge and win!

Categories: Misc. Tags:
  1. Jenn
    October 7, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    I had hip surgery (labral tear, bone spur, bursa sac removed and IT band released) in November 2010. I felt immediately better. The pain post surgery was nothing compared to the pain I had been living with for 8 years while they tried to determine what was wrong. Six months later I tore the laberal again or it was torn below the surface and they did not see it on the first surgery. I just had a second surgery to grind the bone spur and repair the labrum. 30 days later I tore it again. Be careful on the amount of activity you do….I was just walking!

    • October 7, 2011 at 4:59 pm

      Thank you for the advice. Having a recurrence is one of my biggest fears. How are you doing today? Are you able to do physical activities without problem? Again thank you for the advice.

  2. October 26, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    Jorge, like you I have FAI (CAM) and a labral tear in my left hip… And also like you, I had a goal to run a Marathon (The Marine Corps in DC in 2010), which was stopped short when I was diagnosed with this condition last summer during training. I have always been a runner, so this hiatus from running has been quite difficult on me physically and mentally. Though I have found some solace on the elliptical, and may take up swimming to prepare for an even longer hiatus from running after surgery.

    It will be 1 year since the original Marathon I was supposed to run on October 30th, and 1 day after that I see Dr. Parker of Commonwealth Orthopedics to determine my surgery plan. I am terrified that I will need 2 surgeries (my right hip has been acting up of late too), and worry I will never run again and recovery will take forever… But I feel that this is the best possible solution after consultation with my Orthopedist. I encourage you to get on the message boards online and find a support group to get through this. I will be doing the same. So if you ever would like to chat, feel free to contact me. I run the blog http://www.adamlovesfood.com so you can find my contact details there.

    Also, one of my coping mechanisms has been to always keep in mind that it could be a lot worse. There are plenty of other awful injuries, medical conditions, diseases, and handicaps out there, and this is just one stupid hip thing. My friend posted this video yesterday on facebook, and it really put that mindset in the forefront of my mind. Take a look:

    Best of luck to you. I hope we can both get through this injury and run the Marathons we both hope to complete.

    -Adam

    • October 27, 2011 at 4:33 pm

      Adam,

      It’s a pleasure to meet you. Thank you for the kind words. Thank you for sharing the video. It’s hard not to get emotional after watching him. Very inspirational. It’s a shame how people take many things for granted. And yet Nick do not allow his detriments to become a weakness. More power to him.

      I actually thought about the actual statistic of how many people have FAI (Cam or Pincer). To know there are support groups for this condition is a relief. In recent years I have had 2 unrelated medical procedures. Each procedure allowed me to think forward and not look back. I also overcame weight issues. While I am not where I want to be, I know once I get through this storm, I will achieve my dream. Is it scary? Absolutely.

      Going into my December 19th surgery, I know the amount of pain I will be in. But as we all know, “pain” is just a four letter word. These obstacle can only make me stronger. And I am sure you are feeling that way too. The road to recovery will not be easy. Nevertheless, I strive off of challenges. At least I hope I can strive.

      My doctor mentioned the recovery time between post surgery and returning to physical activities will be six months. With that said, I will not resume where I left off. In fact, I had plans on using your approach, which is what I am doing now, sans swimming. The elliptical has been a good tool. However, nothing can compare to running. For me it has been eight months since I last ran. And it has been three months since my doctor cleared me to return to the gym. Right now, my goal is to get in good shape before the surgery. The six months of downtime will not be too kind. Although, I will do my best to maintain my weight.

      Like you, I will more than likely get my left hip fixed/repaired as well. In that case, I will wait one year from the right hip surgery to get the left worked on.

      Anyway, I can go on and on, but I will hold off for now. Thank you for visiting my blog. I will definitely check out your blog. We’ll definitely get through this my friend. Keep your spirits up. I am here if you need to talk. I also have a Facebook fan page. It chronicles my upcoming surgery and the NYC Marathon. One day we will accomplish our goal of running our respective marathon. Bank on it. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

