Home > Uncategorized > In 90 Days…

In 90 Days…

On December 19th, I will face another challenge. 90 days from now autumn will face its final days as winter looms. In 90 days, I will prepare to celebrate the Christmas holiday with loved ones. In 90 days, I will celebrate the culmination of two years of grad school. In 90 days, I will prepare the countdown to the end of another year. But in 90 days, I will prepare myself for surgery.

That’s right, in 90 days, I will have a procedure to correct my right hip. In March I was diagnosed with Femoroacetabular Impingement (FAI). The soreness my body endured is nothing compared to the pain my body would sustain if I ignored the discomfort for years without treatment. The condition, as most of you know, is a bone abnormality that rubs against the labrum. The labrum is a tissue inside the socket of my hip joint. Exacerbated by my active lifestyle, FAI has caused the tearing of my labrum. While the tears are small, the chances of requiring hip replacement surgery if untreated would significantly increase.

After seeing two doctors, going through physical therapy and an injection in my right hip, the final option to correct my hip is surgery.

Believe me when I say I am not afraid of the procedure. Sure, I am stating this in mid-September. But the fact I have been down this road before does not have a hold on me. I know what to expect. Thankfully, I have the support of loved ones. Without their love and support I would be a mess, despite my prior medical procedures. As a matter of fact I am looking forward to the procedure.

I always get asked why I am looking forward to it. Well here’s why:

  1. I am in good hands with Dr. Bryan T. Kelly. After a bad experience with the first orthopedic hip doctor, on the advice of a friend and through twitter, I opted to go with Dr. Kelly. And after my initial visit I knew I was in good hands. He has a reliable staff and based at the Hospital for Special Surgery (HSS) in NYC. It also helps that he has performed similar procedures on professional athletes. I can go on and on with this.
  2. I have had two medical procedures in the past. My first medical procedure occurred in 2008 when I had anterior talo fibular ligament surgery. Heading into that procedure I was scared. Everything people always discuss came true. Will it be painful? How much pain will I be in post-op? What if I am given too much anesthesia? I ultimately came out of it unscathed and in good condition. My second procedure came one year later, when I had my gall bladder removed. Honestly, that was a walk in the park. And now in 90 days, I will face hip surgery. A walk in the park? We’ll see. But I can tell you this much…I am  ready.
  3. The quicker I get this over with…the quicker I can proceed with physical therapy…and the quicker I can get back in pursuit of my first marathon. Of course, by the time I am able to run it will be June or July 2012.
Do you now see why I am looking forward to the surgery? This will get done. But it all begins 90 days from now. Sure, I will spend the holidays on crutches. But, you know what…that’s the price to pay for longevity and a safe quality of life.
Between now and then I am working out and training in what I dubbed “#Destination155”. Destination 155 is a hash-tag I created on twitter. Whenever I include the phrase, readers will know I am working out. While I am looking out for my health now, word is, working out for weeks at a time before surgery will help in the recovery of the body post surgery.
Other than that I am feeling great. Taking care of my mind, body and soul has been therapeutic. Come December 19, I will go into HSS with an abnormal hip, but will leave that same day a new man.
  1. September 20, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    Hi,

    it is really good to read your blog regarding your pending FAI surgery, I have my MRI arthrogram in a couple of weeks to assess the extent of damage in my right hip having already had an x-ray showing cam type inpingement. Given the choice between a more sedentary lifestyle/further compliations or surgery it is likely I will be going the surgery route also. I will definately be keeping an eye on your progress, it is nice to read something other than medical references in relation to this.

    Steve.

    • September 20, 2011 at 3:27 pm

      Thank you, Steve. While I am grateful to have sought treatment earlier this year, I admit the set back discouraged me a bit. But knowing full well this is just a “set-back” motivates me to continue on my path. From X-Rays, to MRI’s, to physical therapy and to Hip Injections, I endured it all. And yet, all the treatment and diagnosis cannot break me down. For now I am unable to run, but my doctor has cleared me to do some form of physical activity. The countdown is set. Between now and December 19, I will do my best to get in the best shape I possibly can. It makes me smile knowing that I can inspire others. Do not allow your condition to overpower your life. Thank you for the kind words. 🙂

      Jorge

    • September 20, 2011 at 3:30 pm

      And I apologize but good luck on the MRI anthrogram. Please keep me posted on the findings. I’m pulling for you.

  2. November 23, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    Im glad youre going with Dr Kelly. I have heard good things

    • November 24, 2011 at 5:15 pm

      Angela,
      Thank you for the comment. Dr. Kelly came highly recommended. After disliking the previous orthopedic dr, my friend and some tweeters recommended Dr. Kelly. After I researched his information online I knew I would be in good hands. After all, he’s done this procedure on athletes. I know I’m in good hands. Happy Thanksgiving.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

