Home > Hip Impingment, Misc., Training > The Stronger The Better

The Stronger The Better

Session 5 came and went. I must admit each time I leave STAR I get encouraged. Today was no exception.

On top of all the workouts I wrote earlier, I also had to squat on a bosu and balance for one minute. Think it’s easy? Well I dare you to try it. 🙂

Other exercises included: planks and side planks, leg presses, side steps with a thera band around ones ankles.

The key to the side step is to place a thera band around the ankles and in a squatting position walk side ways from one end of the room to the other. There are different color thera bands. Each color represent different resistance. Today Justin (another great STAR employee) gave me a blue thera band.

Walking sideways in a squatting position from one end to the other and back actually works the core and hips. There is a technique to this madness though.

Both feet must be straight and the further the space the better the resistance. Or was it the other way around. Don’t quote me on that just yet. Next week I will get a definitive answer.

After I completed my workouts, Jeremy stretched each hip. I did not feel any discomfort. Hopefully this is a sign of good things to come.

Oh and by the way Amanda was able to add the elliptical to my arsenal of cardio machines. After ten minutes on the stationary bike, she recommended I try the elliptical.

I was in heaven.

Well that was my evening at STAR. I look forward to next week.

Until then time to celebrate my birthday (on Saturday), the 4th of July and the series finale of the Yankees/Mets game at Citi Field. Yes my brother presented me with a pair of tickets to the game on Sunday.

But of course I will also do my STAR stretches at home. No rest for the weary and party animals. Ok I am not quite the party animal but I enjoy having fun.

Happy Independence Day.

Cheers.

Jorge

Categories: Hip Impingment, Misc., Training
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

