Home > Hip Impingment, Misc., Training > It’s HIP To Have a Healthy HIP

It’s HIP To Have a Healthy HIP

THE TRUE CHALLENGE HAS BEGUN

Since my first initial visit to STAR physical therapy, I have learned a lot about my body. In particular I learned how weak my hips were. Currently after four sessions (fifth session is tonight), I still remain “cautiously optimistic” about the future of my health.

I know at some point I will be able to hit the gym and get back on my routine. Starting over is never easy. But I have to put things into perspective. Right now my goal is to strengthen my core and the areas surrounding my hips. The kind folks at STAR, in particular Jeremy and Amanda, have guided me on what to do, how to do it, and how often it should be done.

At STAR I always start out with a 10 minute cardio session. The stationary bike, while not my favorite, has been a blessing. Considering after three months of not being able to workout, I quickly discovered how winded and out of shape I have become. Regardless, I break out into a sweat. I truly miss sweating after a great cardio session. Perspiration is my indicator of how great of a workout I endured. It’s also an indicator of keeping myself hydrated. But that’s another story for another day.

Upon completing my brief cardio session I proceed to the “Multi-Hip” machine. Obvious by the name the machine serves multiple purposes.  By selecting the appropriate amount of weight I then work on different areas of the hip by using the machine.

First there is the hip extension. Doing three sets of 15 on each side is never easy. But all I can do is think about the benefits. The key to this, as in any other workout, is to do it a pace that is comfortable to the person (in this case me), and to have proper posture. If you feel soreness in your outer hip muscles, then you did something right.

Upon completing that I am then asked to work on the hip abductions. The hip abductions are the hip muscles in the inner hip area. The key to this is to do it a speed that is comfortable and challenging. Swinging your thighs to 15 times is a burn all on its own. But you are not done. Upon completing the inner abductor you must then work on the same hip but this time working the outer abductor. This seems easy but rest assured it is not easy.

Oh and by the way each workout is not complete until both hips are worked on.

One of my favorite exercises/strengthening routines at STAR is the leg press. At 60 pounds, I definitely have not lost a step. Ok…maybe I lost a step or two. But that’s neither here nor there. One thing Amanda discovered about my prognosis is the form. My knees slant outward instead of staying straight. To get the proper form she suggested I put a mini ball between my legs to properly position my legs as I do a press. Doing the leg press took me back to New York Sports Club (NYSC). I miss the fun of lifting weights. SIGH!

After three sets of 15, I then do some stool (chair) stretches.

First there is the stool rotation. This involves “the involved knee on a stool” and rotating the leg outward and holding it for 10 seconds, then rotate the leg inward and holding it for an additional 10 seconds.

Secondly there is the Hip Flexor Stretch with a Stool. The involved knee is placed on a stool (as my hips are parallel to a table). I slide the stool back until a strong stretch is felt in the front of my hip. The stretch is held for 30 seconds. And once I completed it, I alternate between each hip.

Lastly there is the Hip Abductor Stretch with a stool. The involved knee is on a stool (again hips are parallel to the table). I then slide the stool out to side until I feel a stretch in the inner thigh. Again, this stretch is held for 30 seconds; and upon completing it, I alternate.

I bet you are asking yourself, “What if I do not have a stool to do this at home?” Good question. There are ways of doing the same stretch without a stool. For the Hip Flexor Stretch and Hip Abductor Stretch, a person can do it standing. Same time applies.

I can go on and on about the other routines and stretches but I will leave it at this for now.

I remain hopeful things will work out for the better. A lot has been happening in my life in recent weeks. And quite frankly, it has been happening for the better.

I know with the help of positive thinking this can only lead me down to a great road.

By all means leave comments, tips and idea. Words of encouragement is always welcomed. 🙂

Have a great day.

Jorge

  1. July 1, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    Remaining hopeful is a good mindset to have. It must feel awesome to be able to workout again! 🙂

    • July 1, 2011 at 2:00 pm

      Thank you David. The last few months have been hard. But I have hope that come July 29, my dr will clear me. For now the only workouts I get are under supervision at physical therapy. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

