Home > Hip Impingment, Training > My Hips Ache But My Spirit Is Alive and Well

My Hips Ache But My Spirit Is Alive and Well

During my lunch break I took a stroll through Central Park. Gorgeous weather for a walk. Gorgeous weather to get out in general. However, after my consultation with Dr. Kelly last week, I  get the sense I am becoming a masochist.  Not being able to run has forced me to be idle. As I walked through the route where thousands of runners finish each November during the NYC Marathon, I can only think about my future of running the event. For almost two years I have set my sights on running the 2012 NYC Marathon.

For two years I have thought about the 26.2 miles of stress my body will endure from the starting point in Staten Island all the way to the finish line in Central Park. Would all of the stress and pain be worth the gold medal for crossing the finish line? Hell yes! But now as I battle a new challenge, the two years of dreaming about running in the event has faded into the distance. As I walked through Central Park this afternoon, I could not help but to feel sorry for myself. I am 30 years old. I am in my prime. But with aching hips I feel twice my age…60 to be exact.

The gorgeous weather has brought runners to take the pavement today. I want to be doing what  they are doing. Instead I am just a spectator. Paying close attention to detail I noticed the sweat and hard work each runner has put in. Then I realized I put too much damn effort, energy and money into my dream. I refuse to let it fade into the distance. Yes my hips ache. Yes my hips are not in “tip top” shape, but by God I will RUN again. And you can bet your bottom dollar, I will run in the NYC Marathon. 2012 may be out of the question now…but rest assured I will run the event. Not only will I run the event but I will cross the finish line and cherish the medal.

I am down. But I am not out. Please do not feel sorry for me. This was my bad break. But now it’s time to turn this negative into a positive. Physical therapy begins next week. If I can conquer my weight issues, I can surely conquer Femoroacetabular Impingement (Cam Impingement). Watch out world…Jorge Briones will be back. And he will be back with a vengeance.

In the coming weeks I will post my progress. All the highs and lows. I will be detailed in my therapy. If I am in pain you will know about it. If I am improving you will know about it. This is a challenge I refuse to lose.

 

  1. June 6, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    You can do it Jorge! I love the attitude!!

    • June 7, 2011 at 8:55 am

      Than you. I have to keep that attitude and keep my focus on my goal. I appreciate the love and support. It TRULY means a lot. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

