Home > Hip Impingment > Hip Impingement Is Difficult

Hip Impingement Is Difficult

Last Tuesday (05/31) I finally had my consultation with Dr. Bryan Kelly. Dr. Kelly is considered one of the top orthopedic doctors in New York state. Obtaining a consultation to see him proved to be arduous. I wish I had seen him sooner. But regardless of when I saw him his word would be final.

Prior to the consultation in the morning, he requested a CT Scan to determine the condition of my hips. Since March I have endured x-rays, CT Scans, and an MRI for my hips in particular, the right hip. What was one more CT Scan, right?

Upon completing the medical exam I went straight to Dr. Kelly’s office. Compared to the previous orthopedic doctor I visited I was shocked at seeing the courtesy and professionalism by Dr. Kelly and his staff. Unlike the previous doctor, Dr. Kelly and his staff examined my hips by moving each hip around and looking for range of motion. Needless to say I was uncomfortable after each pull and turn.

On the bright side, he gave me a reason to be “cautiously optimistic”. According to him, after asking questions and examining my hips, he did not recommend surgery like I was originally told; instead he wants me to pursue the conservative route by going through physical therapy (PT). The therapy will be a measure to reduce pain and swelling in the joint. But on top of that he wants me to take a Non-Steroid Anti-Inflammatory Drug (NSAID) for one month.

For the next month I have to take voltaren twice a day. The last thing I need is a drug, but if the NSAID is going to reduce inflammation then I am going to follow the regimen to an exact science.

However, he said if the conservative route has not helped after 6-8 weeks my next step is an injection. The injection will determine where the pain is coming from. Keep in mind I have femoroacetabular impingement (CAM Impingement) which is slowly tearing up my labrum. The injection will determine if the pain/discomfort is coming from the tear or the abnormal bone.

The injection will determine if the pain stems from FAI or from my lower back. If the pain is from the hip joint it will provide hip relief.  Unfortunately if that does not help my last option is surgery.

Again I am “cautiously optimistic”. I begin my therapy on June 16th. Since March, I have stopped working out. Upon finding out the news, I asked if I could resume my workouts. However, he suggested I avoid the gym until after I see him for a follow up visit in late July.

While I received encouraging news, I am discouraged. My marathon dreams have been put on the side. I really DO NOT want to give up on that dream. It means a lot to me. It will pain me if I have to give it up.

Nevertheless, I will remain as positive as positive can be.

I would like to hear from those with Femoroacetabular Impingement (FAI). How did you get through it? What advice can you give for someone who has to “sit on the bench”? If you endured Physical Therapy as a conservative option how are you feeling? If you had surgery how are your hips?

Until we speak.

Jorge

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

