Home > Hip Impingment > Preparing For The Medical Consulation

Preparing For The Medical Consulation

I know it has been a long time since I submitted information into my blog. With my hectic work schedule and grad school, I have been kept busy. In a way my schedule has been the distraction I needed as my inability to run or workout has been temporarily eliminated.

As I reflect I am having a hard time being dormant and sedentary. If you are a constant reader of my blog you know I have come a long way from being sedentary. But now I have no choice but to be dormant and sedentary. Doing routine daily activities has become a bit too bothersome. While I am in no pain, I feel discomfort in key areas including: hips, quads, lower back, and glutes.

The coming weeks will be a true test for me. Yes, I have not had a workout in two months. But the true test will be in a medical office on May 31st. Dr. Bryan Kelly will discuss what lies ahead in my battle with a hip impingement.

I am already preparing for the inevitable. What is the inevitable? Surgery is the option.  After doing research on this matter the recovery time on crutches is 2-4 weeks. Meaning I may be out of work for 4 to 8 weeks. The optimist in me would like to return to work sooner than that and the optimist in me would like to celebrate my 31st birthday without crutches; however I will need to follow the orders presented to me by my doctor.

As I hate looking into the future I cannot wait for June, 2012. At that point I will be able to resume my workouts, albeit at a slow pace. I am already anticipating some weight gain between now and when I can resume my training. However, I am hoping to keep any weight gain to a minimum. Just because I am unable to work out does not give me the freedom to overly indulge.

Have you experienced a hip impingement? What are your thoughts? How long was your recovery?

  1. May 17, 2011 at 3:09 am

    I wish you the best of luck Jorge, keep us updated!

    • May 18, 2011 at 1:23 pm

      Thank you, bud. I will definitely keep you updated. It’s just been discouraging. But I know in no time this will be forgotten. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

