Home > Hip Impingment > Casualty Of Fitness

Casualty Of Fitness

I know it has been a week since I last submitted a blog entry. Please accept my apologies. But I have been dreading the thought of writing about my injury/condition. As you may know, I have been suffering from discomfort in my right hip. Obviously, I sought medical attention. After searching for an orthopedic doctor, I arranged an appointment last Thursday.

The day of the consultation, the doctor asked me a bunch of questions. And considering my age, he wanted to know why I was seeing an orthopedic doctor. I told him my symptoms occurred after running on the treadmill. Looking at his facial expressions and his eventual response I knew he had ideas. He recommended x-rays to determine if I had a fracture or broken bone.

After taking two different x-rays my doctor gave me good news and bad news. The good news. My hip was in tact. The bad news. I had abnormal hips. My doctor revealed I had a hip impingement. Actually the impingement is on the left and right side. An impingement is a where the round head of the femur bone does not properly connect to the pelvic bone. In other words the head is shaped bigger than it should be. What this means is the abnormal part rubs up against the femur and the acetabulum, which rubs against the labrum.

And with that my doctor recommended an MRI. Since I needed an MRI the wise decision is to stop running until I discover the results. After initially arranging an MRI for this upcoming Friday, I was able to move it to Tuesday.

Today the results were available. And after receiving a call from my doctor he confirmed a “small labral tear“. The causes of the labral tear can depend. My theory? The tear was caused due to the impingement and my intense training.

He recommended physical therapy for five weeks. On the bright side the MRI did not reveal arthritis which would lead to an eventual hip replacement. However, my concern now is the change of my workouts. Most importantly I have to stop running.

Do I want surgery? No. However, if I am unable to compete at my level then surgery would be a wise option. With that stated, I will have to seek a second opinion.  At this point my aspirations for the NYC Marathon has been put on hold. I am DISCOURAGED.

Stay tuned on what I plan on doing next.

  1. March 24, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    I am so sorry Jorge 😦 I hope the therapy works and know you can make it through this.

    • March 25, 2011 at 10:57 am

      Thank you for your concern, David. Right now I am discouraged. I have not set foot in the gym since last weekend. To make matters worse my orthopedic doctor did not seem to be helpful. Honestly, I worry that I have to drastically change my workouts. Research shows arthroscopic surgery allows the patient to return to their intense level. I will seek a second opinion. I will keep you posted, my friend. Again thank you for the concern.

      • March 25, 2011 at 11:31 pm

        Thank you, I hope to hear only good news.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

