Home > Hip Impingment, Training > Standing Idle

Standing Idle

After discussing my concerns with close friends (runners and non-runners), I decided it would be in my best interest to seek medical attention sooner rather than later. I am able to walk without any discomfort. However, when I am in the “single knee to the chest” stretch, I feel the discomfort in my inner right hip (possibly hip flexor). Interestingly, when I am release the stretch I feel the inner hip crack/pop. Another reason why I am concerned. The fun never ends with me. Nevertheless, the discomfort is tolerable but as I mentioned in previous entries, I do not want to take chances on acquiring any debilitating injuries.

Until I visit the doctor (this Thursday), I will cease ALL cardio workouts. Do I want to cease all cardio? No of course not.  But it is in my best interest to rest my ailing hip and wait for the proper examination and subsequent diagnosis from my doctor.

Yes, I want to RUN. But for now I am not taking any chances. And well it’s not like I am avoiding the gym entirely. I plan on visiting as much as I can just to lift weights. It will not be a total wash.

Running is in me now. I am so close to achieving my goals. No way will I ruin my opportunity by ignoring my instinct.

  1. March 14, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    I think that is a very wise move, I really hope that your meeting with the doctor goes well 🙂

    • March 14, 2011 at 4:31 pm

      Thank you. I feel great but I do not want to take any chances. I will definitely keep you posted on the prognosis.

      • March 15, 2011 at 3:10 pm

        I appreciate that, I hope to hear good news.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

