Home > Training > Progress

Progress

Slow and steady wins the race. Or so says a buddy of mine. Three days after revealing my first running event,  this first time runner put himself in a running mindset. This morning I ran on the treadmill.

If I intend to participate in the 2012 NYC Marathon I will need to focus. For the second week I showed signs of improvement. Adding an additional ten minutes (including a five minute cool down) to my workout on the treadmill I surpassed my pace. Running at the same speed (6.2-6.4)  as last week I ran for a total of 8.31 miles.

I CONTINUE TO IMPROVE

Yes I added an additional ten minutes but the added time  is meant to build stamina. The more time I increase the better I will improve on distance. And also keep in mind, while I did add to the distance during the final five minutes, I walked. To prevent stiffness or injuries it is wise and common to drop the heart rate after a long and vigorous workout. In this case after running for 105 minutes, the final five was exactly what the doctor ordered.

And if you are wondering I am sore. For two weeks now I have shown signs of improvement. However, to avoid injury, I prefer not adding additional time. Of course I will not add any additional time for the interim.

In the coming days I will actually implement cross-training. Cross-training is a way for a runner to avoid injury and keep active while in between a run. Instead of running one could use the elliptical, spin bike, stair master, and even swimming. Typically, when I am not running I am on the stair master. However, lately, I have felt uninspired and exhausted.

While I do enjoy the stair master, I may have hit a wall. Now I decided to change it up. In the coming days I will explain cross-training in detail.

Overall I am feeling great. I cannot wait for the next run. My training can only get better and challenging.

  1. March 7, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    Well done my friend, keep up the great work!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

