Home > Training > My First Race Revealed

My First Race Revealed

Where Am I Running?

Since creating “runjorgerun”, my thoughts have been set on running the 2012 NYC Marathon. However, while I looked to the future, I never thought about the present. Sure I am in training mode. However, the winter days toppled by less than favorable weather has forced me to train in the warm confines of the treadmill. It’s not ideal but as the saying goes, “it’s better than nothing”!

As we enter a new month, I will see sunnier days. Spring means an eternal outlook on life and the renaissance of a new me. Sure I lost weight. And sure I am in the best shape of my life. But now I have to take my training to the next level. To get in the best shape come November 2012, I need to plan for the present. At the moment I am making progress. But I refuse to be complacent. As someone close to me said, “do not worry about the others, go out there and have fun.” And that is my intention. The training will be arduous and at times grueling, but through hell or high water I will persevere this challenge like no other.

Earlier this week, by fate, I happened to have logged on to my twitter page and in my timeline was a tweet from the New York Road Runners (NYRR) that promoted their upcoming American Heart Association 3 mile Wall Street Run on May 17th. On their website, the NYRR’s offered other races prior to this one in May, but some were too soon for me to even consider, I decided with enough preparation and training between now and May 17th, I will tackle the 3 mile challenge.

Running has been a huge motivation for me in recent months. And what makes the event far more special is the added benefit I am running in an event and for an organization I deeply care about. Being healthy and active has changed my perspective on life. And what better way to promote the American Heart Association than to participate in a 3 mile race. Participating in this race is the right thing to do and I could not be any happier.

As a first time runner I know my weaknesses can only be turned into a strength. It’s only a matter of time until I break out and with my best pair of running shoes, the world will see the transition I made from 250 pound Jorge, to agile and healthy Jorge.

For more information on the 3 mile run please click here.

Run Jorge Run!

  1. March 3, 2011 at 11:41 pm

    Good for you! I look forward to hearing more about it!

  2. March 4, 2011 at 10:03 am

    Thank you. Between now and May 17th I can only imagine the possibilities. I plan on going out there to see where I stand. It should be an interesting challenge. šŸ™‚

  3. Daniela aka RunDani17
    March 13, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    Still catching up…and you’ve answered my question from the last post, you’re confined to the treadmill b/c of the winter…..on to the next post!
    and good luck on the training for the 5K! Great place to start & getting used to the rush you feel when the gun goes off šŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

