Home > Misc., Training > Reflections Three Years After Ankle Surgery

Reflections Three Years After Ankle Surgery

Three years ago today I had ankle surgery to repair a ruptured Anterior Talofibular Ligament. While most wonder what this has to with my training. Well in an earlier entry I discussed how a fall into an uneven piece of pavement while walking to the gym put me on the shelf for three months.

I fell on February 2nd and had surgery 25 days later. I have said in the past the fall, while debilitating, has been a blessing in disguise.  I remember waking up in the post-op room wondering what time the surgery would take place. Obviously, I woke up from my medical slumber with an oxygen mask over my mouth and nose. I took the mask off and a nurse approached me to check on my condition. In tears I asked her, “What time was I getting the surgery?” She replied, “You already had surgery.” To my amazement I put one and one together and was relieved to know the worst was over…or so I thought.

Recovering from surgery was the worst part. My attempts at re-training myself to walk was arduous. Physical therapy was discouraging and painful. But by mid-April I graduated from crutches and used a cane for an extra month.

Overall the fall, the subsequent surgery and recovery allowed me to:

  • See a medical doctor after developing symptoms for what I perceived to be diabetes months after returning to work.
  • Take exercising seriously.
  • Lose weight.
  • And be close to 100 pounds lighter.

Six weeks after surgery, My parole came at an outing to the NY Mets Final Home Opener at Shea Stadium

Now three years after surgery I am in the best shape of my life. My life has been revolved around my normal life but included a healthy and active lifestyle. The health club has become my second home. While a healthy diet (close to it) contributed to being energetic and healthy.

After three years I wonder where in the world was I before the fall? Then I think to myself if I did not suffer the fall and injury, I probably would not be here. I probably would not have the dream of writing “the final chapter in my weight loss”.

Run Jorge Run will become a reality and not a dream. If I can do it…so can you.

  1. Kassie
    March 5, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    Hi Jorge, I stumbled across you blog as I was looking for information on ATFL surgery. I’m a 43 year old, out of shape woman, and I’m having that AND a medial meniscus tear repaired over the summer. I’m trying to get in a bit of shape before surgery just to survive the pain, casts, and crutches for 6 weeks.
    Anyway, I was wondering if you could share what your ATFL recovery was like. All I’ve heard is that it’s painful, but that doesn’t help me any.

    Thanks!
    Kassie

    • March 6, 2012 at 9:46 pm

      Hi Kassie,

      First and foremost I apologize for the delay in response.

      I appreciate your response – and want to wish you well in your upcoming procedure. Are you in pain?

      I ask that because I had the ATFL repaired one month after rupturing the ligament. It appears your ligament is not ruptured. Please correct me if I am wrong.

      When I had my ankle repaired it was a month after falling into a pothole. The damage was severe that it needed to be corrected as soon as the swelling died down.

      In any event after the surgery I was on crutches for three months. Quite frankly I was in no pain. The only time I felt any discomfort was during physical therapy. And that’s because the physical therapist is stretching your ankle and massaging the surgically repaired area.

      More than likely you will placed in a walking boot. The boot is what kept me from being in too much pain. If you are placed in that you will be in good shape.

      If you have any other questions please let me know.

      Jore

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

