Home > Training > Pedometer vs. Treadmill

Pedometer vs. Treadmill

This morning I got off to an early start. I woke up at the usual time…6 in the morning to be exact. Yes-I rarely sleep in on weekends. The early start each weekend is an added benefit. The earlier I get to the gym the earlier I get a great workout.

Today I got the early start I needed, but I did not get to the gym until 11. The errands I wanted to get accomplished yesterday afternoon was delayed until this morning. My early day was spent driving from point A to point B then to Point C and back to Point A. After completing my errands the time approached 1030 in the morning. Do I go to the gym and train? Decisions. However this decision did not take too long. I packed my gym bag and packed my new pedometer.

With my pedometer in tow you know full well I planned on using the treadmill. And that I did–After a 20 minute walk to the gym, changed into my workout gear. Stretched. Then hopped on a treadmill. But this would be the first time using my new Timex Pedometer.

PREGAME

Pedometer clipped to my shorts, Zune blasting Alkaline Trio. And now I was under way. Like last week, I used my friends advice and ran in the 6.0/6.1 range. It felt great. Not caring what others think, I began to sing. Yes I am tone deaf. But that does not nor will stop me from meeting my goals.

Throughout the run I felt great. Upon completing my run after 65 minutes I compared the treadmill’s calculations to my pedometer. And low and behold I was not surprised. SEE BELOW.

After 65 minutes, the treadmill calculated I ran 6.6 miles.

However my pedometer calculated…

4.96 Miles?

For a long time I never trusted the calculations on any cardio machine. The picture above says it all. I have said it before and I have said countless times over the machines give “estimates”. Those estimates should be taken with a grain of salt.

Since I completed 4.96 miles in 65 minutes at a speed of 6.1, I decided to run for another 35 minutes therefore completing a 100 minute run. The final 35 minutes, at a speed of 6.2, did not seem like a punishment run, instead it was a way for me to train my heart and my mind. Afterall if I intend on running a marathon, I need to prepare for distance.

After 35 minutes here is where I finished…

Treadmill Calculations #2 3.53 Miles?

Drum Roll Please…

After 35 minutes my pedometer calculated a combined distance of:

2.63 Miles in 35 minutes for a total of 7.59

Should I be upset that I ran for 7.59 miles instead of 10.13? Um. At first I was. But then I thought about the past. I thought about last year when I ran for 15 minutes at a speed of 3.5 while fighting for each breathe. Now  today I can complete sustain a 100 minute run. Imagine what I can do if I ran on a track or asphalt? The outlook looks bright.

Mark my words in no  time I will surpass 7.59 miles. Now I cannot guarantee it will be in the next session or within this month, I can guarantee that it will happen. And when it does happen I will share my success with the world.

How did I celebrate 7.59 miles? Simple…Greek yogurt, a protein shake and a banana.

  1. February 28, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    Love your perspective! Keep up the great work!
    ~David

  2. February 28, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    Thank you David. For a while now I have known the calculations never seemed accurate. And low and behold my theory was proved right. Now I am on the verge picking up my training with my trustee pedometer. It will be a fun experience. 🙂

  3. February 28, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    Interesting. I always suspected those machines were lying to me about the amount of calories I was allegedly burning!

    Now for the class-related stuff: You’ll want to optimize all your posts with keywords (which I assume include “marathon”, etc). This one doesn’t mention the marathon at all. It’s also helpful to use categories for every post, if only to make your blog easier to navigate once it grows. Otherwise, really informative content. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Daniela aka RunDani17
    March 13, 2011 at 11:04 pm

    I don’t think the pedometer is any more accurate than the treadmill. For example, using the Nike+ band, (serves kind of like a pedometer, calculating your distance based on you’re turnover & the pace you’ve previously set on the band) it says in the manual to not use on a treadmill b/c it’s not accurate. Yep, it definitely isn’t, it falls waaaaay short.
    For example, on an easy day for me, I’ll run say 4miles at 7mph, ok. Now I’ll go at the treadmill 7mph, I won’t hit 4miles under 30minutes. Let’s face it, running on a treadmill doesn’t match distance on the road because of your turnover, you’ll notice it that your strides are limited on a treadmill.
    Now here’s my advice one runner to another, try to avoid the treadmill as much as you can. It really can mess with your pace, turnover and getting your legs accustomed to a road that isn’t going to be easy on your knees & shins, maybe one day the sidewalks and road will have built-in shock absorbers, haha. Trust me, I learned that the hard way one summer when I couldn’t make it to my cross-country practices for a month and a half…let’s just say the beginning of the season was catastrophic for me.

    But it you must use the treadmill, slowly increase the incline, it’ll target those calves which will be your best friends on those nasty hills 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

