Home > Misc., Training > Let the Weight Loss Commence PT 2

Let the Weight Loss Commence PT 2

The road to weight my weight loss started in 2008…

2008 came in with a bang and unfortunately my waist line was slowly expanding. With the increase in weight and the shortness of breath while sedentary, I did something about it.

I used the discount my employer-provided and joined the New York Sports Club (NYSC). After signing up with NYSC, I was determined to shed some weight and lead a healthy life. Of course I envisioned all that. In actuality the first weeks of my “new life” never took off. I vividly remember going to the gym getting on the elliptical for 15 minutes. Why 15 minutes? I would exert all of my energy within the first few minutes and in my own warped mind believed the barometer for shedding weight was SWEAT. At the sign of a sweat drop I would end my workout, head to the locker room for a shower and get dressed. What did I do afterwards? In most cases I  would walk to a nearby Starbucks and buy a tasty dessert treat or a sandwich. (FYI…In my entire life I have had only one cup of coffee.)

Never did I realize how ineffective a workout could be. In hindsight I was ignorant. On certain days I would stare at myself in the mirror and say, “Wow I am noticing a difference.” Again, ignorant.

After a few weeks I did not notice any type of results. As a matter of fact I started using the scales the gym had in the locker room and discovered how “robust” I was. In late January 2008, I weighed at around 245 pounds. Yes I went from “pudgy” and “husky”  as a child to “fat” and “baby fat” as a teen to “robust” and “rotund” as an adult, which were two adjectives given to me by…me. Yes I could poke fun at myself but at the same time I was beginning to accept my fate as an overweight fat man with low self-esteem. It was a downer.

Nevertheless, I still went and continued the same uninspired routine. Then on February 2nd I suffered a debilitating injury. This injury, in hindsight, came at the right time. I have even gone on to suggest the injury was a “blessing in disguise”. Walking to the NYSC in Downtown Hoboken I injured my left ankle after falling in an uneven piece of curb/pavement. My left ankle buckled forcing me to quickly fall to the pavement. I knew I was hurt. But thought nothing of it.

After bearing weight on my left leg I felt a POP. I quickly fell to the ground and a Samaritan called 9-1-1. To make a long story short after my visit to the ER x-rays did not reveal any broken bones. However, attendants placed my left foot in a splint. I was told to stay off of it for a week but advised to see their podiatry clinic during the week.

To make a longer story short I saw their podiatry clinic for two consecutive weeks and after an a CAT Scan and an MRI, my doctor revealed the severity of my injury. I had ruptured my Anterior Talofibular Ligament (ATFL). The last thing I wanted to hear came true. My podiatrist recommended surgery. At the end of February I had ankle surgery.

I recovered within three months. But in between the three months, I developed a numbness in my right big toe. I hobbled to my computer and researched “toe numbness”. It turns out “toe numbness” is a sign of diabetes. Considering the fact I had not been active since late-January I thought about the prognosis. As quickly as I thought about the self prognosis, I “swept it under the rug”.

In July while attending physical therapy and walking without the use of a cane or crutches, the numbness returned. This time I did not sweep anything under the rug and sought medical attention. Ten days after the initial physical and blood work, my doctor gave me good news and bad news. The good news? I was not diabetic. Bad news? I weighed 250 pounds. My blood pressure was borderline. The blood results revealed borderline high cholesterol. That was all the information I needed to WAKE UP and take CHARGE of my life.

In late July I received clearance from my physical therapist as well as my podiatrist on returning to the gym. While I had the wake up call fresh in my mind, in all reality part of me did not want to return. I enjoyed the inactivity and sedentary life I had been apart of. It took me a couple of weeks to find a rhythm.

In August, I finally woke up! I found a groove. At first my body would use the elliptical. For four days a week at 60 minutes per session, the elliptical and I became friends. The sweat protruding off my pores and the smile on my face spoke volumes. Sure I was not rapidly losing weight but I knew within time the impossible would occur.

For the remainder of the year I incorporated a healthy diet  and with regular visits to the gym I lost a total of 20 pounds. I entered 2009 weighing 230 pounds. As an old trainer used to say, “PROGRESS“. I felt great and motivated. Throughout the year I incorporated other routines into my workouts. I discovered the spin bike, then treadmill (again), a personal trainer, and then, my personal favorite, the stair master. It felt great.

Everytime I dropped ten pounds, I challenged myself to drop another ten and then another. My caloric intake went from 3000+ to less than 2000. Obviously consuming less than 2000 calories was not the brightest thing I did, but it sure helped me understand what to eat and what to avoid. I also learned that 3,500 calories is the equivalent to 1 pound. By September, 2009 I lost a total of 100 POUNDS. My waist line dropped from 47″ to a 32.5″. And the added energy has me wanting to go on like the Energizer Bunny.

I lost 100 pounds without the use of pills or cosmetic surgery. Sure I have a lot of refining to do, but I do not regret one bit of the journey. If I can provide inspiration to others then I served my purpose.

AFTER-AGE 29 (CIRCA: APRIL, 2010)

150 POUNDS

And now the final chapter in my weight loss will come to fruition in 2012. The NYC Marathon will put my body through all the rigors of fitness. This race will be my brass ring. And I will not give up until this 150 pound male crosses the finish line.

  1. February 23, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    Well done on the weight loss, I wish you luck on the marathon!

    • February 23, 2011 at 12:45 pm

      Thank you. The journey has allowed me to see things in a different perspective. If being healthy was this good I would have started years ago. This blog is only the beginning. 🙂

      • February 23, 2011 at 4:23 pm

        Agreed, perspective changes as you lose weight! I look forward to reading more 🙂

  2. March 8, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    Blogging keeps me insane. Keep up all the positive work. I too love to blog. I found this one to be very informative

    • March 9, 2011 at 9:43 am

      Thank you. This has been my journey. While it has been a struggle, I have maintained a positive outlook. My motto lately has been, “the skies the limit”. I am glad my writing has been informative.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

