Home > Misc., Training > For Years I Lived as an Overweight Man Pt. 1

For Years I Lived as an Overweight Man Pt. 1

To run and complete the 2012 NYC Marathon will be the last chapter in my weight loss. However to cross the finish line I have to reflect on where I used to be.

All my life I went through different body sizes. As a child I was “pudgy” or as my father would say, “husky”. Being 10 years old and trying to understand what the words meant did not have too much of an effect on me. Sure I know I had extra weight but I rarely endured the incessant jokes the way others have. In a way I was fortunate. As an overweight child I was comfortable in my own skin.

Food and I got along. I never used food for comfort. If I was hungry I searched for it. Granted I made poor choices. But honestly do children pass up burgers, fries, and pizza for fruits and vegetables? Not many do. At least not this child.

As I went from a child to adolescence my poor eating habits continued. And unlike my childhood I began noticing the difference between “skinny” and “fat”. Sure as a high school student during the mid-1990’s I noticed the physical aspect and never noticed the healthy aspect. Did it get to me? At times. But I never did a thing about it. I ate away. I do believe walking prevented me from getting any bigger. I will continue to believe that. While others spent their time lifting weights, I spent some time walking. Sure it was not too intense but let’s admit…it was better than nothing.

As a child during the late 1980’s I was considered “pudgy” or “husky”, but now as a teenager in high school I was considered “fat” or as someone who will outgrow the “baby fat”.  Yeah the “baby fat” stuck around way in to my college years and through the beginning years of my career.

During the late 1990’s I attended college and the walks continued. Nothing more. Nothing less. My weight somewhat ballooned. How much? I am not too sure. If I can estimate how much, I would say I was breaking 200 pounds by the year 2000.  I do remember the good foods I ate while in college. Foods such as chili dogs, to calzones to sweet desserts made me feel wonderful and full. I ate and ate. But for some reason, while I was “fat”, my weight never ballooned to the point where I was approaching obesity.

Honestly, I never admitted this until now, but I did suffer from “low self-esteem”. As a young adult in my 20’s I enjoyed socializing. But when it came to being the “third wheel” it really affected me. Deep down inside I attributed my status as a single man to being overweight. I felt awkward spending time with friends while they were with their boyfriends or girlfriends. It was a tough time. But never did I sought food as comfort. Yes I ate. But I never used food as an answer to my problems.

But I continued to move on. After receiving my Associates and subsequently my Bachelor’s Degree I entered the real world. I never owned a scale until 2008. I knew I weighed over 200 pounds. The number never crossed my mind. Why? All I had to do was stand in front of a mirror. Or better yet buying clothes answered how fat I was. If you are wondering I had a size 46 waist (but could fit into a size 40 pair of jeans/slacks) while I wore extra-large shirts and sweaters.

On New Year’s Day in 2008, while sitting in front of my computer, I had shortness of breath.  I knew at that point in time I had to change my life. My self-esteem took a hit and most importantly I had a hard time breathing while sitting in front of my computer. I knew it was time to take control of my life.

In the next entry I will discuss how I ended up losing 100 pounds.

BEFORE–AGE 27 (CIRCA: May 2008)

I weighed 250 pounds.

  1. March 14, 2011 at 8:33 am

    Wow! You have come such a long way and worked so hard to get to achieve your goal of losing weight – thats great 🙂
    This post is definitely touching. It’s really inspiring to others who are trying to lose weight or achieve any type of goal for themselves. Most people strive to lose weight because they are unhappy with their appearance, but I think that it’s great that you realized the unhealthy effects also (when you had shortness of breath).
    Great post!

    • March 14, 2011 at 1:39 pm

      Thank you Alicia. That’s really nice of you to say. It’s weird how I can go from devouring burgers and fries to enjoying fruits and vegetables. Or how I can consume three liters of water as opposed to drinking sweetened beverages. Yes I know I will never be the body-builder type but honestly I have no qualms with that. I am comfortable with who I am and knowing that I am leading a healthy life is truly humbling. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

