Home > Training > From the Stair Master to the Treadmill

From the Stair Master to the Treadmill

It’s another Sunday afternoon here in New Jersey. The weather has returned to its usual February form with cold temperatures and snow on the way. Thankfully the snow will not be as dire as previous storms after. Here in the NY/NJ area we are expecting up to 3″ of snow followed by sleet.

Where does that leave me in my training? Well it means my training for the marathon will force me to run indoors. And that is what I did this morning. The best part about going to the gym early on a Sunday morning is the availability of cardio machines without the long lines or worries of people looking over your shoulders.

My visit to the gym at first did not start on the treadmill. Actually, just like Thursday, I had no intentions on jumping onto a treadmill. After stretching my lower body, I hopped on the stair master. Yes, I was reunited with my favorite machine. My mentality was to complete 45-60 minutes on the stair master and finish up my training by lifting weights. Today I wanted to work on my back.

At first my body was receptive to the stair master. I had good music blaring in my Zune and some good sports highlights on television. My mind was distracted with the entertainment coming from all avenues. I was not exhausted. Yes I was sore from Thursday, but even that was a non-factor.

I endured 50 minutes of non-impact training on the Stair Master. Meaning the machine provides a great cardio workout and does not impact major joints. According to the LiveStrong website http://www.livestrong.com/article/18927-workout-benefits-stairmaster/ a major benefit for using the machine is the increase in endurance and stamina if one uses it for 20 minutes at least three times a week. In my case, I use it for three to four days a week for a total of 200 minutes.

The machine has helped me develop endurance and stamina. But honestly, I am nowhere near the shape I want to be in. Surely the machine helped me lose weight. But honestly, it will not help me run a marathon. It’s just a piece of the puzzle. With that stated I intend on focusing more on running than the stair master. That does not necessarily mean I will give up the stair master entirely.

After 50 minutes and at speeds/levels ranging from 14-18, which is fast, I could not handle anymore. I stopped. But because I stopped and felt fatigued I was compelled to do more cardio. Why? Not sure. I quickly looked over at the unused treadmills.

I walked over to one and ran at a speed of 6.0 for 65 minutes. It was a great feeling. Not once did I feel exhausted. I wonder why I felt fatigued on the stair master but on the treadmill I was on another level. For the second time in four days running on the treadmill motivated me to pursue this dream. The dream of running in the marathon.

I can only imagine how I will transition from the treadmill to the tracks or the parks. The thought of running enters my thoughts each and every day. Years ago this was not even a factor. But now I know what I have to do.

I hope to have conversations with other runners. This pursuit only has me wanting to learn. And after a few hours of running on the treadmill, I am home comfortably resting and a bit sore. But it’s a good sore.

  1. July 11, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    nice tips, i will try this… veri helpfull. thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

