Home > Misc., Training > A Runner is Born

A Runner is Born

Never in my wildest dreams would I have imagined the thought of pursuing this goal. Never in my wildest dreams would I have imagined of participating in the BIGGEST race in the world. In November 2012, I will face that goal head on when I complete my “final chapter” …the NYC Marathon.

Last night I took a major step in accomplishing that goal. After work I headed to the gym for a cardio workout. Typically I reserve running for the weekend. But last night with two stair master machines in use, I had the option of using the spin bike, elliptical or the treadmill. Any of the three would work, but I really wanted to use the stair master. Nevertheless, since the stair master was not an option, I had to pick. And that decision had to be made in a quick manner. Peak hours at the New York Sports Club in Manhattan quickly gets crowded. With that I selected the treadmill.

My goal was to use the treadmill for a few minutes until the stair master became available. Of course, I lightly stretched for a few. Upon completing my stretches, I jumped on a machine and began my workout. Taking advice from a friend, I started the speed at a comfortable 6.0 mph. Typically I start at 6.5 or up. But now I understand why my friend suggested 6.0. PACING. If one goes over his or her pace then that person will quickly suffer from fatigue.

Low and behold that was my problem. Running at a speed of 6.5 mph in one hour was an accomplishment. But by overdoing I had little energy to go beyond an hour. Mind you a marathon is the equivalent to 26.2 miles. I could barely complete 5 miles. I needed to do something and it had to be done soon. That’s when my friend recommended I start at 6.0 and slowly build my endurance after.

On the treadmill, I started my run at a speed of 6.0. My body was not responding well to the run. Was I bored? Yes. But if it is a way to build my endurance I had to start somewhere.

After ten minutes, one of the stair master machines became available, but I decided to trek on the treadmill.  10 minutes eventually turned into 20 then into 30 and so on. Yes there is a 30 minute time limit during peak hours at the gym, but I paid no mind to their “protocol”. Was I wrong? Of course. But I was enjoying the workout.

Yes I was enjoying the workout but the speed was too simple. After 50 minutes I decided to increase the speed to 6.5. I kept it at that pace for another 50 minutes. Now with an increased speed and good music (you cannot forget to have good music while running) my body approved. I ran and ran. I somehow lost track of time. But I continued to run as if I was in the marathon. I ran as if I entered the final stretch in Central Park and headed straight towards the finish line. And in the end I crossed my imaginary finish line by ending it after 100 minutes. Of course I could have gone on further but the machine has a 100 minute limit and also I had a bus to catch back to New Jersey.

In the end as I was drenched in my own sweat, I was overcome with feelings of happiness and motivation.  Did I really run at a speed of 6.0 and 6.5 for 100 minutes? Yes I did; considering just a few years ago I could barely jog for 15 minutes at a speed of 3.5 without feeling winded. I consider the feat to be my “Welcome to the Neighborhood” party.

By the way, I typically do not like reading the digital information on the treadmill. It said I ran for 10+ miles. But I really do not take it at face value. I did, however, purchase a pedometer. Next time, I’ll be ready.

I can only wait until warmer weather. Central Park is calling my name. And when it does I will challenge that. Baby steps? Agree?

I know where I am heading. It looks bright. But while that was just a way to get warmed up. I am looking forward to seeing what the future lies ahead. By all means if anyone who reads this is a runner or knows a runner and can give this novice runner tips please feel free to comment. I will truly appreciate it.

  1. Daniela aka RunDani17
    March 13, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    one thing….100minutes on the treadmill? wow, I bow to you, I can’t do that to save my life, I get bored at 45min, not to mention it bothers my shins & knees. One thing, I hope that you’ll be throwing in some runs at central park…. Wait don’t ruin it I’m still catching up on your posts, in case you’ve written about it.

    • March 13, 2011 at 10:53 pm

      Thanks. I am enjoying it. The weather is slowly improving. Until I get get ideal conditions I will continue on the treadmill. However, in later entries you discover I am mending an ailing inner hip. It’s sore. But I am not taking chances. Break time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

